Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#32
Steven Matz
ERA W-L K
5.32 5-3 52
Team: St. LouisHt / Wt: 6-2 / 201
Position: SPBorn: 5/29/1991 Birthplace: Stony Brook, New York
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: 2nd Round by Mets (2009)


Latest News
Sep. 28 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST9:22 PM CST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Steven Matz allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-1 on Wednesday. Matz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.32 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 22 4:22 PM PT5:22 PM MT6:22 PM CT7:22 PM ET19:22 ET23:22 GMT7:22 4:22 PM MST6:22 PM EST5:22 PM CST6:52 PM VEN3:22 UAE (+1)5:22 PM CT-Steven Matz did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the San Diego Padres 5-4 on Thursday. Matz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.44 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 17 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST8:39 PM CST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)8:39 PM CT-Steven Matz improved to 5-3, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 1-0 on Saturday. Matz struck out one, ending the game with a 5.56 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
July 23 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)8:12 PM CT-Steven Matz improved to 4-3, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 6-3 on Saturday. Matz struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.70 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
May 23 10:27 AM PT11:27 AM MT12:27 PM CT1:27 PM ET13:27 ET17:27 GMT1:27 10:27 AM MST12:27 PM EST11:27 AM CST12:57 PM VEN21:27 UAE11:27 AM CT-Matz (left shoulder impingement) came off the injured list Sunday to start against the Reds, but the game was postponed due to inclement weather.
Analysis: Matz, who last pitched for St. Louis on May 22, has had an inconsistent season, going 3-1 with a 1.91 ERA in six of his starts and 0-2 with a 19.00 ERA in the other three. He totaled 12 2/3 innings on his rehab assignment and allowed three runs while striking out 17.
May 17 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)8:38 PM CT-Steven Matz allowed two runs on three hits in 5.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the New York Mets 4-3 on Tuesday. Matz struck out seven, ending the game with a 6.03 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
May 12 1:27 PM PT2:27 PM MT3:27 PM CT4:27 PM ET16:27 ET20:27 GMT4:27 1:27 PM MST3:27 PM EST2:27 PM CST3:57 PM VEN0:27 UAE (+1)2:27 PM CT-Steven Matz fell to 3-3, allowing three runs on seven hits in 6.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Baltimore Orioles 3-2 on Thursday. Matz struck out seven, ending the game with a 6.40 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
May 7 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST8:48 PM CST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Steven Matz fell to 3-2, allowing eight runs on five hits and three walks in 2.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the San Francisco Giants 13-7 on Saturday. Matz struck out three, ending the game with a 7.01 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
May 3 10:36 AM PT11:36 AM MT12:36 PM CT1:36 PM ET13:36 ET17:36 GMT1:36 10:36 AM MST12:36 PM EST11:36 AM CST1:06 PM VEN21:36 UAE11:36 AM CT-Matz has been activated from the bereavement list and will make his scheduled start Saturday against the Giants.
Analysis: Matz pitched six innings of four-hit ball in Monday's 1-0 win over the Royals, improving to 3-0 with a 2.18 ERA in his last four starts.
May 2 12:59 PM PT1:59 PM MT2:59 PM CT3:59 PM ET15:59 ET19:59 GMT3:59 12:59 PM MST2:59 PM EST1:59 PM CST3:29 PM VEN23:59 UAE1:59 PM CT-Steven Matz improved to 3-1, allowing four hits over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Kansas City Royals 1-0 on Monday. Matz struck out four, ending the game with a 4.56 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 1:50 PM PT2:50 PM MT3:50 PM CT4:50 PM ET16:50 ET20:50 GMT4:50 1:50 PM MST3:50 PM EST2:50 PM CST4:20 PM VEN0:50 UAE (+1)2:50 PM CT-Steven Matz allowed four runs on six hits and two walks in 4.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the New York Mets 10-5 on Wednesday. Matz struck out six, ending the game with a 6.11 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)8:07 PM CT-Steven Matz improved to 2-1, allowing one run on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 4-2 on Friday. Matz struck out six, ending the game with a 5.27 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)8:13 PM CT-Steven Matz improved to 1-1, allowing three hits over 5.2 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 2-1 on Saturday. Matz struck out six, ending the game with a 7.27 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 2:30 PM PT3:30 PM MT4:30 PM CT5:30 PM ET17:30 ET21:30 GMT5:30 2:30 PM MST4:30 PM EST3:30 PM CST5:00 PM VEN1:30 UAE (+1)3:30 PM CT-Steven Matz fell to 0-1, allowing seven runs on nine hits and one walk in 3.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 9-4 on Sunday. Matz struck out five, ending the game with a 21.00 ERA and 3.33 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 NYM 4 0 0 - 0 6 6 0 35.2 34 9 9 4 10 0 34 1.23 2.27
2016 NYM 9 8 0 - 0 22 22 0 132.1 129 53 50 14 31 2 129 1.21 3.40
2017 NYM 2 7 0 - 0 13 13 0 66.2 83 46 45 12 19 2 48 1.53 6.08
2018 NYM 5 11 0 - 0 30 30 0 154.0 134 77 68 25 58 2 152 1.25 3.97
2019 NYM 11 10 0 - 0 32 30 1 160.1 163 83 75 27 52 7 153 1.34 4.21
2020 NYM 0 5 0 - 0 9 6 0 30.2 42 33 33 14 10 0 36 1.70 9.68
2021 Tor 14 7 0 - 0 29 29 0 150.2 158 70 64 18 43 0 144 1.33 3.82
2022 StL 5 3 0 - 0 13 10 0 45.2 49 27 27 8 10 0 52 1.29 5.32
Career 50 51 0 - 0 154 146 1 776.0 792 398 371 122 233 13 748 1.32 4.30

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 NYM 6 14 1 4 1 0 0 5 0 1 0 0 .286 .286 .357
2016 NYM 24 36 0 5 1 1 0 2 4 11 0 0 .139 .220 .222
2017 NYM 17 21 1 3 0 0 0 1 0 7 0 0 .143 .143 .143
2018 NYM 30 46 2 5 1 0 2 4 3 13 0 0 .109 .163 .261
2019 NYM 36 57 4 13 0 0 1 1 0 17 0 0 .228 .228 .281
2021 Tor 29 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 164 176 8 30 3 1 3 13 7 50 0 0 .170 .201 .250

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2015 NYM Total 0 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 14.2 17 6 6 0 4 1 13 3.68
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 6 3 3 0 2 1 4 5.40
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.2 4 1 1 0 2 0 4 1.93
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 7 2 2 0 0 0 5 3.60
Career 0 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 14.2 17 6 6 0 4 1 13 3.68

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 NYM Total 3 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 3 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 397 97 92 94.5 48.95
Curveball 156 82 75 77.9 19.24
Slider 22 91 88 89.6 2.71
Changeup 236 88 82 85.1 29.1

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2022 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.