Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#18
Carlos Martínez
ERA W-L K
6.23 4-9 57
Team: St. LouisHt / Wt: 6-0 / 200
Position: SPBorn: 9/21/1991 Birthplace: Puerto Plata, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Cardinals (2010)


Latest News
July 4 3:30 PM PT4:30 PM MT5:30 PM CT6:30 PM ET18:30 ET22:30 GMT6:30 3:30 PM MST5:30 PM EST4:30 PM CST6:00 PM VEN2:30 UAE (+1)4:30 PM CT-Carlos Martinez allowed one run on one hit and one walk in 3.1 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Colorado Rockies 3-2 on Sunday. Martinez struck out two, ending the game with a 6.23 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
June 30 9:21 PM PT10:21 PM MT11:21 PM CT12:21 AM ET0:21 ET4:21 GMT12:21 9:21 PM MST11:21 PM EST10:21 PM CST11:51 PM VEN8:21 UAE10:21 PM CT-Carlos Martinez improved to 4-9, allowing one run on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-2 on Tuesday. Martinez struck out six, ending the game with a 6.38 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
June 25 9:35 PM PT10:35 PM MT11:35 PM CT12:35 AM ET0:35 ET4:35 GMT12:35 9:35 PM MST11:35 PM EST10:35 PM CST12:05 AM VEN8:35 UAE10:35 PM CT-Carlos Martinez fell to 3-9, allowing five runs on five hits and seven walks in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-2 on Thursday. Martinez struck out two, ending the game with a 6.78 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
June 18 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)8:21 PM CT-Carlos Martinez fell to 3-8, allowing eight runs on eight hits and four walks in 3.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Atlanta Braves 9-1 on Friday. Martinez struck out three, ending the game with a 6.62 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
June 13 6:51 PM PT7:51 PM MT8:51 PM CT9:51 PM ET21:51 ET1:51 GMT9:51 6:51 PM MST8:51 PM EST7:51 PM CST9:21 PM VEN5:51 UAE (+1)7:51 PM CT-Carlos Martinez fell to 3-7, allowing two runs - zero earned - on four hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Chicago Cubs 2-0 on Sunday. Martinez struck out six, ending the game with a 5.54 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
June 9 9:58 PM PT10:58 PM MT11:58 PM CT12:58 AM ET0:58 ET4:58 GMT12:58 9:58 PM MST11:58 PM EST10:58 PM CST12:28 AM VEN8:58 UAE10:58 PM CT-Carlos Martinez fell to 3-6, allowing five runs on seven hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Cleveland Indians 10-1 on Tuesday. Martinez struck out seven, ending the game with a 6.21 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
June 3 10:04 PM PT11:04 PM MT12:04 AM CT1:04 AM ET1:04 ET5:04 GMT13:04 10:04 PM MST12:04 AM EST11:04 PM CST12:34 AM VEN9:04 UAE11:04 PM CT-Carlos Martinez fell to 3-5, allowing 10 runs on six hits and four walks in 0.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 14-3 on Wednesday. Martinez struck out one, ending the game with a 5.83 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
May 28 10:41 PM PT11:41 PM MT12:41 AM CT1:41 AM ET1:41 ET5:41 GMT13:41 10:41 PM MST12:41 AM EST11:41 PM CST1:11 AM VEN9:41 UAE11:41 PM CT-Carlos Martinez allowed three runs on three hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-4 on Thursday. Martinez struck out six, ending the game with a 4.22 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
May 21 8:39 PM PT9:39 PM MT10:39 PM CT11:39 PM ET23:39 ET3:39 GMT11:39 8:39 PM MST10:39 PM EST9:39 PM CST11:09 PM VEN7:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-Carlos Martinez allowed two runs on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Chicago Cubs 12-3 on Friday. Martinez struck out two, ending the game with a 4.18 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
May 11 10:21 AM PT11:21 AM MT12:21 PM CT1:21 PM ET13:21 ET17:21 GMT1:21 10:21 AM MST12:21 PM EST11:21 AM CST12:51 PM VEN21:21 UAE11:21 AM CT-Martinez (sprained right ankle) has been activated from the injured list and will start Friday against the Cubs.
Analysis: Martinez (3-4, 4.35) won his third straight start May 8 despite allowing five runs on six hits and five walks in five innings. After the game he revealed he had tweaked his right ankle celebrating fellow pitcher Jack Flaherty's first career home run the night before.
May 8 3:02 PM PT4:02 PM MT5:02 PM CT6:02 PM ET18:02 ET22:02 GMT6:02 3:02 PM MST5:02 PM EST4:02 PM CST5:32 PM VEN2:02 UAE (+1)4:02 PM CT-Carlos Martinez improved to 3-4, allowing five runs on six hits and five walks in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Colorado Rockies 9-8 on Saturday. Martinez struck out two, ending the game with a 4.35 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
May 2 12:51 PM PT1:51 PM MT2:51 PM CT3:51 PM ET15:51 ET19:51 GMT3:51 12:51 PM MST2:51 PM EST1:51 PM CST3:21 PM VEN23:51 UAE1:51 PM CT-Carlos Martinez improved to 2-4, allowing five hits and two walks over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 3-0 on Sunday. Martinez struck out three, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST8:33 PM CST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)8:33 PM CT-Carlos Martinez improved to 1-4, allowing two runs - one earned - on two hits and two walks in 7.1 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 5-2 on Tuesday. Martinez struck out four, ending the game with a 4.76 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 4:11 PM PT5:11 PM MT6:11 PM CT7:11 PM ET19:11 ET23:11 GMT7:11 4:11 PM MST6:11 PM EST5:11 PM CST6:41 PM VEN3:11 UAE (+1)5:11 PM CT-Carlos Martinez fell to 0-4, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Washington Nationals 1-0 on Wednesday. Martinez struck out three, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 6:45 PM PT7:45 PM MT8:45 PM CT9:45 PM ET21:45 ET1:45 GMT9:45 6:45 PM MST8:45 PM EST7:45 PM CST9:15 PM VEN5:45 UAE (+1)7:45 PM CT-Carlos Martinez fell to 0-3, allowing six runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 9-2 on Friday. Martinez struck out five, ending the game with a 7.80 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST4:05 PM CST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)4:05 PM CT-Carlos Martinez fell to 0-2, allowing three runs on eight hits in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 9-5 on Saturday. Martinez struck out one, ending the game with a 6.30 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 4 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST2:15 PM CST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)2:15 PM CT-Carlos Martinez fell to 0-1, allowing four runs on four hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 12-1 on Sunday. Martinez struck out four, ending the game with a 7.20 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 StL 2 1 1 - 1 21 1 0 28.1 31 16 16 1 9 1 24 1.41 5.08
2014 StL 2 4 1 - 6 57 7 0 89.1 90 41 40 4 36 8 84 1.41 4.03
2015 StL 14 7 0 - 0 31 29 0 179.2 168 65 60 13 63 5 184 1.29 3.01
2016 StL 16 9 0 - 0 31 31 0 195.1 169 68 66 15 70 1 174 1.22 3.04
2017 StL 12 11 0 - 0 32 32 2 205.0 179 93 83 27 71 3 217 1.22 3.64
2018 StL 8 6 5 - 5 33 18 0 118.2 100 48 41 5 60 4 117 1.35 3.11
2019 StL 4 2 24 - 27 48 0 0 48.1 39 18 17 2 18 1 53 1.18 3.17
2020 StL 0 3 0 - 0 5 5 0 20.0 32 26 22 6 10 2 17 2.10 9.90
2021 StL 4 9 0 - 0 16 16 0 82.1 77 58 57 8 36 2 57 1.37 6.23
Career 62 52 31 - 39 274 139 2 967.0 885 433 402 81 373 27 927 1.30 3.74

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 StL 21 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 StL 57 12 0 3 0 0 0 2 0 4 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2015 StL 32 56 2 8 2 0 0 0 1 23 0 0 .143 .172 .179
2016 StL 33 59 5 14 1 0 0 6 0 13 0 0 .237 .246 .254
2017 StL 34 62 5 11 3 0 0 11 1 19 0 0 .177 .203 .226
2018 StL 34 33 1 8 2 0 1 4 0 11 0 0 .242 .235 .394
2019 StL 48 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 StL 16 24 1 2 1 0 0 0 0 15 0 0 .083 .083 .125
Career 280 249 14 46 9 0 1 23 2 87 0 0 .185 .199 .233

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 StL Total 0 1 0 - 0 12 0 0 12.2 7 5 5 0 3 1 11 3.55
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.0 1 2 2 0 1 0 2 9.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.2 1 0 0 0 1 0 4 0.00
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 5 0 0 6.0 5 3 3 0 1 1 5 4.50
2014 StL Total 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.0 3 1 1 0 4 0 2 2.25
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.1 0 1 1 0 1 0 1 6.75
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.2 3 0 0 0 3 0 1 0.00
2019 StL Total 1 1 0 - 1 4 0 0 3.2 6 6 6 2 4 2 5 14.73
    LDS 1 1 0 - 1 3 0 0 3.1 6 6 6 2 3 1 4 16.20
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.1 0 0 0 0 1 1 1 0.00
Career 1 2 0 - 1 20 0 0 20.1 16 12 12 2 11 3 18 5.31

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2019 StL Total 4 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 20 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 534 98 86 92.7 41.69
Curveball 62 84 76 80.8 4.84
Slider 239 86 78 82.7 18.66
Changeup 171 88 81 84.9 13.35
Cut Fastball 275 94 86 90.7 21.47

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.