Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#99
Hyun Jin Ryu
ERA W-L K
4.37 14-10 143
Team: TorontoHt / Wt: 6-3 / 255
Position: SPBorn: 3/25/1987 Birthplace: Incheon, South Korea
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: Undrafted by Dodgers (2012)


Latest News
Oct. 3 3:33 PM PT4:33 PM MT5:33 PM CT6:33 PM ET18:33 ET22:33 GMT6:33 3:33 PM MST5:33 PM EST4:33 PM CST6:03 PM VEN2:33 UAE (+1)4:33 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu improved to 14-10, allowing two runs on six hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 12-4 on Sunday. Ryu struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.37 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 28 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST8:49 PM CST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu fell to 13-10, allowing three runs on six hits and one walk in 4.1 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the New York Yankees 7-2 on Tuesday. Ryu struck out three, ending the game with a 4.39 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 19 9:09 AM PT10:09 AM MT11:09 AM CT12:09 PM ET12:09 ET16:09 GMT0:09 9:09 AM MST11:09 AM EST10:09 AM CST11:39 AM VEN20:09 UAE10:09 AM CT-Ryu (neck) came off the injured list Tuesday against the Yankees.
Analysis: Ryu fell to 13-9 on Sept. 17 after allowing five runs in two innings against the Twins. He was then placed on the injured list after he woke up with a tight neck the following day. Ryu has posted an 8.10 ERA in his past eight outings, but he's 2-0 with a 1.88 ERA in four starts against the Yankees this season.
Sep. 17 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST8:14 PM CST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)8:14 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu fell to 13-9, allowing five runs on five hits and one walk in 2.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Minnesota Twins 7-3 on Friday. Ryu struck out two, ending the game with a 4.34 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 11 4:55 PM PT5:55 PM MT6:55 PM CT7:55 PM ET19:55 ET23:55 GMT7:55 4:55 PM MST6:55 PM EST5:55 PM CST7:25 PM VEN3:55 UAE (+1)5:55 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu allowed seven runs on eight hits and one walk in 2.1 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 11-10 on Saturday. Ryu struck out four, ending the game with a 4.11 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 6 1:00 PM PT2:00 PM MT3:00 PM CT4:00 PM ET16:00 ET20:00 GMT4:00 1:00 PM MST3:00 PM EST2:00 PM CST3:30 PM VEN0:00 UAE (+1)2:00 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu improved to 13-8, allowing three hits over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the New York Yankees 8-0 on Monday. Ryu struck out six, ending the game with a 3.77 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 31 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)8:07 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu fell to 12-8, allowing three runs on three hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 4-2 on Tuesday. Ryu struck out six, ending the game with a 3.92 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 26 3:27 PM PT4:27 PM MT5:27 PM CT6:27 PM ET18:27 ET22:27 GMT6:27 3:27 PM MST5:27 PM EST4:27 PM CST5:57 PM VEN2:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu fell to 12-7, allowing seven runs on seven hits and one walk in 3.2 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Chicago White Sox 10-7 on Thursday. Ryu struck out four, ending the game with a 3.88 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 21 2:29 PM PT3:29 PM MT4:29 PM CT5:29 PM ET17:29 ET21:29 GMT5:29 2:29 PM MST4:29 PM EST3:29 PM CST4:59 PM VEN1:29 UAE (+1)3:29 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu improved to 12-6, allowing five hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Detroit Tigers 3-0 on Saturday. Ryu struck out five, ending the game with a 3.54 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 15 10:47 PM PT11:47 PM MT12:47 AM CT1:47 AM ET1:47 ET5:47 GMT13:47 10:47 PM MST12:47 AM EST11:47 PM CST1:17 AM VEN9:47 UAE11:47 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu fell to 11-6, allowing four runs on three hits and two walks in 6.1 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Seattle Mariners 9-3 on Saturday. Ryu struck out three, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 8 2:15 PM PT3:15 PM MT4:15 PM CT5:15 PM ET17:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST3:15 PM CST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu allowed seven runs on 10 hits and one walk in 3.2 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Boston Red Sox 9-8 on Sunday. Ryu struck out one, ending the game with a 3.62 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 6:58 PM PT7:58 PM MT8:58 PM CT9:58 PM ET21:58 ET1:58 GMT9:58 6:58 PM MST8:58 PM EST7:58 PM CST9:28 PM VEN5:58 UAE (+1)7:58 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu improved to 11-5, allowing two runs on seven hits in 7.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Cleveland Indians 7-2 on Tuesday. Ryu struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.22 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 29 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)8:40 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu improved to 10-5, allowing two hits over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Boston Red Sox 13-1 on Thursday. Ryu struck out five, ending the game with a 3.26 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
July 24 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST9:05 PM CST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu allowed three runs on 10 hits and one walk in 4.1 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the New York Mets 10-3 on Saturday. Ryu struck out four, ending the game with a 3.44 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
July 18 12:00 PM PT1:00 PM MT2:00 PM CT3:00 PM ET15:00 ET19:00 GMT3:00 12:00 PM MST2:00 PM EST1:00 PM CST2:30 PM VEN23:00 UAE1:00 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu improved to 9-5, allowing three hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Texas Rangers 5-0 on Sunday. Ryu struck out four, ending the game with a 3.32 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 7 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)8:34 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu improved to 8-5, allowing one run on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 10-2 on Wednesday. Ryu struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.56 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
July 1 1:37 PM PT2:37 PM MT3:37 PM CT4:37 PM ET16:37 ET20:37 GMT4:37 1:37 PM MST3:37 PM EST2:37 PM CST4:07 PM VEN0:37 UAE (+1)2:37 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu fell to 7-5, allowing five runs - four earned - on seven hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Seattle Mariners 7-2 on Thursday. Ryu struck out two, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
June 26 3:03 PM PT4:03 PM MT5:03 PM CT6:03 PM ET18:03 ET22:03 GMT6:03 3:03 PM MST5:03 PM EST4:03 PM CST5:33 PM VEN2:03 UAE (+1)4:03 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu improved to 7-4, allowing four runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 12-4 on Saturday. Ryu struck out three, ending the game with a 3.41 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
June 20 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST2:15 PM CST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)2:15 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu improved to 6-4, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-4 on Sunday. Ryu struck out four, ending the game with a 3.25 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
June 15 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST9:05 PM CST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu allowed three runs on five hits and four walks in 6.0 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the New York Yankees 6-5 on Tuesday. Ryu struck out three, ending the game with a 3.43 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
June 10 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST9:17 PM CST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)9:17 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu fell to 5-4, allowing three runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-2 on Thursday. Ryu struck out three, ending the game with a 3.34 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
June 4 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST8:11 PM CST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)8:11 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu fell to 5-3, allowing seven runs - six earned - on seven hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Houston Astros 13-1 on Friday. Ryu struck out one, ending the game with a 3.23 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
May 28 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST8:54 PM CST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)8:54 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu improved to 5-2, allowing two runs on four hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Cleveland Indians 11-2 on Friday. Ryu struck out six, ending the game with a 2.62 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
May 23 1:16 PM PT2:16 PM MT3:16 PM CT4:16 PM ET16:16 ET20:16 GMT4:16 1:16 PM MST3:16 PM EST2:16 PM CST3:46 PM VEN0:16 UAE (+1)2:16 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu allowed two runs on eight hits and one walk in 6.2 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 6-4 on Sunday. Ryu struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.53 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
May 18 8:01 PM PT9:01 PM MT10:01 PM CT11:01 PM ET23:01 ET3:01 GMT11:01 8:01 PM MST10:01 PM EST9:01 PM CST10:31 PM VEN7:01 UAE (+1)9:01 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu improved to 4-2, allowing four hits over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Boston Red Sox 8-0 on Tuesday. Ryu struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.51 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
May 12 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)8:07 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu improved to 3-2, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Atlanta Braves 4-1 on Wednesday. Ryu struck out six, ending the game with a 2.95 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
May 6 3:53 PM PT4:53 PM MT5:53 PM CT6:53 PM ET18:53 ET22:53 GMT6:53 3:53 PM MST5:53 PM EST4:53 PM CST6:23 PM VEN2:53 UAE (+1)4:53 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu improved to 2-2, allowing four runs on six hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Oakland Athletics 10-4 on Thursday. Ryu struck out six, ending the game with a 3.31 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 3:08 PM PT4:08 PM MT5:08 PM CT6:08 PM ET18:08 ET22:08 GMT6:08 3:08 PM MST5:08 PM EST4:08 PM CST5:38 PM VEN2:08 UAE (+1)4:08 PM CT-Ryu (glute strain) came off the injured list Thursday and will start at Oakland.
Analysis: Ryu is 1-2 with a 2.60 ERA in five starts this season. He's struck out 26 and walked just three over 27 2/3 innings.
Apr. 25 1:29 PM PT2:29 PM MT3:29 PM CT4:29 PM ET16:29 ET20:29 GMT4:29 1:29 PM MST3:29 PM EST2:29 PM CST3:59 PM VEN0:29 UAE (+1)2:29 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu allowed three hits and one walk without giving up a run in 3.2 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 1-0 on Sunday. Ryu struck out five, ending the game with a 2.60 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST8:02 PM CST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)8:02 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu fell to 1-2, allowing four runs on eight hits in 5.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Boston Red Sox 4-2 on Tuesday. Ryu struck out two, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 7:17 PM PT8:17 PM MT9:17 PM CT10:17 PM ET22:17 ET2:17 GMT10:17 7:17 PM MST9:17 PM EST8:17 PM CST9:47 PM VEN6:17 UAE (+1)8:17 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu improved to 1-1, allowing one run - zero earned - on four hits and one walk in 6.2 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the New York Yankees 7-3 on Tuesday. Ryu struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.89 ERA and 0.89 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 1:46 PM PT2:46 PM MT3:46 PM CT4:46 PM ET16:46 ET20:46 GMT4:46 1:46 PM MST3:46 PM EST2:46 PM CST4:16 PM VEN0:46 UAE (+1)2:46 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu fell to 0-1, allowing two runs on seven hits in 7.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Texas Rangers 2-1 on Wednesday. Ryu struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.92 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 1 2:04 PM PT3:04 PM MT4:04 PM CT5:04 PM ET17:04 ET21:04 GMT5:04 2:04 PM MST4:04 PM EST3:04 PM CST4:34 PM VEN1:04 UAE (+1)3:04 PM CT-Hyun Jin Ryu allowed two runs on four hits and one walk in 5.1 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the New York Yankees 3-2 on Thursday. Ryu struck out five, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 LAD 14 8 0 - 0 30 30 2 192.0 182 67 64 15 49 4 154 1.20 3.00
2014 LAD 14 7 0 - 0 26 26 0 152.0 152 60 57 8 29 2 139 1.19 3.38
2016 LAD 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.2 8 6 6 1 2 1 4 2.14 11.57
2017 LAD 5 9 1 - 1 25 24 0 126.2 128 58 53 22 45 3 116 1.37 3.77
2018 LAD 7 3 0 - 0 15 15 0 82.1 68 23 18 9 15 1 89 1.01 1.97
2019 LAD 14 5 0 - 0 29 29 1 182.2 160 53 47 17 24 2 163 1.01 2.32
2020 Tor 5 2 0 - 0 12 12 0 67.0 60 22 20 6 17 0 72 1.15 2.69
2021 Tor 14 10 0 - 0 31 31 1 169.0 170 85 82 24 37 0 143 1.22 4.37
Career 73 45 1 - 1 169 168 4 976.1 928 374 347 102 218 13 880 1.17 3.20

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 LAD 30 58 5 12 3 1 0 5 2 23 0 0 .207 .233 .293
2014 LAD 26 47 4 7 2 0 0 2 1 17 0 0 .149 .167 .191
2016 LAD 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 LAD 25 30 3 4 1 0 0 0 3 18 0 0 .133 .235 .167
2018 LAD 16 26 4 7 1 0 0 2 2 13 0 0 .269 .321 .308
2019 LAD 30 51 3 8 1 0 1 3 4 23 0 0 .157 .218 .235
2021 Tor 31 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 171 217 19 38 8 1 1 12 12 96 0 0 .175 .222 .235

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 LAD Total 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.0 9 4 4 0 2 0 5 3.60
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.0 6 4 4 0 1 0 1 12.00
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 3 0 0 0 1 0 4 0.00
2014 LAD Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 5 1 1 1 1 0 4 1.50
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 5 1 1 1 1 0 4 1.50
2018 LAD Total 1 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 19.0 23 11 11 1 3 1 20 5.21
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 4 0 0 0 0 0 8 0.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 7.1 13 7 7 1 2 1 7 8.59
    WS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.2 6 4 4 0 1 0 5 7.71
2019 LAD Total 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 4 2 2 1 2 1 3 3.60
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 4 2 2 1 2 1 3 3.60
2020 Tor Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 1.2 8 7 3 2 1 0 3 16.20
    WC 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 1.2 8 7 3 2 1 0 3 16.20
Career 3 3 0 - 0 9 9 0 41.2 49 25 21 5 9 2 35 4.54

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 LAD Total 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 - .000 -
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 LAD Total 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 LAD Total 4 5 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .400 .400 .400
    LDS 1 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .333 .333 .333
    LCS 2 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .500 .500 .500
2019 LAD Total 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 9 10 0 2 0 0 0 1 0 4 0 0 .200 .182 .200


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 970 94 82 90 36.07
Curveball 340 79 67 74 12.64
Slider 22 84 79 81 .82
Changeup 685 85 73 79.9 25.47
Cut Fastball 672 90 81 86.4 24.99

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.