Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#45
Gerrit Cole
ERA W-L K
3.23 16-8 243
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-4 / 220
Position: SPBorn: 9/8/1990 Birthplace: Newport Beach, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Pirates (2011)


Latest News
Oct. 5 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST9:28 PM CST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Gerrit Cole fell to 0-1, allowing three runs on four hits and two walks in 2.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 6-2 on Tuesday. Cole struck out three, ending the game with a 13.50 ERA and 3.00 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 29 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)8:07 PM CT-Gerrit Cole allowed five runs on nine hits in 6.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 6-5 on Wednesday. Cole struck out six, ending the game with a 3.23 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 24 7:47 PM PT8:47 PM MT9:47 PM CT10:47 PM ET22:47 ET2:47 GMT10:47 7:47 PM MST9:47 PM EST8:47 PM CST10:17 PM VEN6:47 UAE (+1)8:47 PM CT-Gerrit Cole improved to 16-8, allowing three runs on five hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 8-3 on Friday. Cole struck out six, ending the game with a 3.08 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 19 1:39 PM PT2:39 PM MT3:39 PM CT4:39 PM ET16:39 ET20:39 GMT4:39 1:39 PM MST3:39 PM EST2:39 PM CST4:09 PM VEN0:39 UAE (+1)2:39 PM CT-Gerrit Cole fell to 15-8, allowing seven runs on 10 hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Cleveland Indians 11-1 on Sunday. Cole struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.03 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 14 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)8:38 PM CT-Gerrit Cole improved to 15-7, allowing one run on four hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-2 on Tuesday. Cole struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.75 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 7 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST8:11 PM CST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)8:11 PM CT-Gerrit Cole fell to 14-7, allowing three runs - two earned - on five hits and two walks in 3.2 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 5-1 on Tuesday. Cole struck out two, ending the game with a 2.78 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 1 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST8:02 PM CST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)8:02 PM CT-Gerrit Cole improved to 14-6, allowing one run on four hits in 7.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Los Angeles Angels 4-1 on Wednesday. Cole struck out 15, ending the game with a 2.73 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 10:15 PM PT11:15 PM MT12:15 AM CT1:15 AM ET1:15 ET5:15 GMT13:15 10:15 PM MST12:15 AM EST11:15 PM CST12:45 AM VEN9:15 UAE11:15 PM CT-Gerrit Cole improved to 13-6, allowing six hits and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Oakland Athletics 8-2 on Friday. Cole struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.80 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 21 1:21 PM PT2:21 PM MT3:21 PM CT4:21 PM ET16:21 ET20:21 GMT4:21 1:21 PM MST3:21 PM EST2:21 PM CST3:51 PM VEN0:21 UAE (+1)2:21 PM CT-Gerrit Cole improved to 12-6, allowing five hits and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Minnesota Twins 7-1 on Saturday. Cole struck out six, ending the game with a 2.92 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST8:04 PM CST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)8:04 PM CT-Gerrit Cole improved to 11-6, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Los Angeles Angels 2-1 on Monday. Cole struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.04 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 2 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST9:22 PM CST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Cole (COVID-19) has rejoined the Yankees and will start Monday against the Angels.
Analysis: The four-time All-Star was placed on the COVID-19 injured list after testing positive on Aug. 3. Four days earlier, he allowed eight runs in 5 1/3 innings in a loss at Tampa Bay. Speaking before Sunday's game at the Chicago White Sox, Cole described his symptoms as ''mild.'' Cole is 10-6 with a 3.11 ERA in 21 starts.
July 29 1:16 PM PT2:16 PM MT3:16 PM CT4:16 PM ET16:16 ET20:16 GMT4:16 1:16 PM MST3:16 PM EST2:16 PM CST3:46 PM VEN0:16 UAE (+1)2:16 PM CT-Gerrit Cole fell to 10-6, allowing eight runs - seven earned - on six hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 14-0 on Thursday. Cole struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.11 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
July 23 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-Gerrit Cole fell to 10-5, allowing three runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 6-2 on Friday. Cole struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.74 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
July 18 10:09 PM PT11:09 PM MT12:09 AM CT1:09 AM ET1:09 ET5:09 GMT13:09 10:09 PM MST12:09 AM EST11:09 PM CST12:39 AM VEN9:09 UAE11:09 PM CT-Gerrit Cole improved to 10-4, allowing one run on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 3-1 on Saturday. Cole struck out 11, ending the game with a 2.63 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
July 10 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST8:20 PM CST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)8:20 PM CT-Gerrit Cole improved to 9-4, allowing three hits and two walks in a complete-game shutout, as the New York Yankees defeated the Houston Astros 1-0 on Saturday. Cole struck out 12, ending the game with a 2.68 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
July 4 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET21:32 GMT5:32 2:32 PM MST4:32 PM EST3:32 PM CST5:02 PM VEN1:32 UAE (+1)3:32 PM CT-Gerrit Cole allowed four runs on six hits and three walks in 3.1 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the New York Mets 10-5 on Sunday. Cole struck out six, ending the game with a 2.91 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
June 27 1:23 PM PT2:23 PM MT3:23 PM CT4:23 PM ET16:23 ET20:23 GMT4:23 1:23 PM MST3:23 PM EST2:23 PM CST3:53 PM VEN0:23 UAE (+1)2:23 PM CT-Gerrit Cole fell to 8-4, allowing six runs - five earned - on eight hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 9-2 on Sunday. Cole struck out six, ending the game with a 2.66 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
June 22 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST8:58 PM CST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Gerrit Cole allowed two runs on three hits and three walks in 7.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Kansas City Royals 6-5 on Tuesday. Cole struck out six, ending the game with a 2.33 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
June 16 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST8:14 PM CST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)8:14 PM CT-Gerrit Cole improved to 8-3, allowing two runs on four hits and one walk in 8.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 3-2 on Wednesday. Cole struck out four, ending the game with a 2.31 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
June 10 10:00 PM PT11:00 PM MT12:00 AM CT1:00 AM ET1:00 ET5:00 GMT13:00 10:00 PM MST12:00 AM EST11:00 PM CST12:30 AM VEN9:00 UAE11:00 PM CT-Gerrit Cole improved to 7-3, allowing two runs on five hits in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Minnesota Twins 9-6 on Wednesday. Cole struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.31 ERA and 0.87 WHIP on the season.
June 3 4:19 PM PT5:19 PM MT6:19 PM CT7:19 PM ET19:19 ET23:19 GMT7:19 4:19 PM MST6:19 PM EST5:19 PM CST6:49 PM VEN3:19 UAE (+1)5:19 PM CT-Gerrit Cole fell to 6-3, allowing five runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 9-2 on Thursday. Cole struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.26 ERA and 0.87 WHIP on the season.
May 28 7:55 PM PT8:55 PM MT9:55 PM CT10:55 PM ET22:55 ET2:55 GMT10:55 7:55 PM MST9:55 PM EST8:55 PM CST10:25 PM VEN6:55 UAE (+1)8:55 PM CT-Gerrit Cole allowed one run on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Detroit Tigers 3-2 on Friday. Cole struck out five, ending the game with a 1.78 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
May 22 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST2:18 PM CST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)2:18 PM CT-Gerrit Cole improved to 6-2, allowing four hits and three walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Chicago White Sox 7-0 on Saturday. Cole struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.81 ERA and 0.80 WHIP on the season.
May 17 7:53 PM PT8:53 PM MT9:53 PM CT10:53 PM ET22:53 ET2:53 GMT10:53 7:53 PM MST9:53 PM EST8:53 PM CST10:23 PM VEN6:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-Gerrit Cole fell to 5-2, allowing five runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Texas Rangers 5-2 on Monday. Cole struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.03 ERA and 0.78 WHIP on the season.
May 12 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)7:50 PM CT-Gerrit Cole improved to 5-1, allowing four hits over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 1-0 on Wednesday. Cole struck out 12, ending the game with a 1.37 ERA and 0.68 WHIP on the season.
May 6 1:26 PM PT2:26 PM MT3:26 PM CT4:26 PM ET16:26 ET20:26 GMT4:26 1:26 PM MST3:26 PM EST2:26 PM CST3:56 PM VEN0:26 UAE (+1)2:26 PM CT-Gerrit Cole allowed two runs on five hits in 7.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Houston Astros 7-4 on Thursday. Cole struck out four, ending the game with a 1.61 ERA and 0.72 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST8:20 PM CST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)8:20 PM CT-Gerrit Cole improved to 4-1, allowing four hits over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Detroit Tigers 10-0 on Friday. Cole struck out 12, ending the game with a 1.43 ERA and 0.72 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 6:20 PM PT7:20 PM MT8:20 PM CT9:20 PM ET21:20 ET1:20 GMT9:20 6:20 PM MST8:20 PM EST7:20 PM CST8:50 PM VEN5:20 UAE (+1)7:20 PM CT-Gerrit Cole improved to 3-1, allowing one run on three hits in 7.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Cleveland Indians 2-1 on Saturday. Cole struck out 11, ending the game with a 1.71 ERA and 0.73 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 18 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST2:09 PM CST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)2:09 PM CT-Gerrit Cole fell to 2-1, allowing three runs - two earned - on five hits in 6.1 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 4-2 on Sunday. Cole struck out 10, ending the game with a 1.82 ERA and 0.81 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 7:16 PM PT8:16 PM MT9:16 PM CT10:16 PM ET22:16 ET2:16 GMT10:16 7:16 PM MST9:16 PM EST8:16 PM CST9:46 PM VEN6:16 UAE (+1)8:16 PM CT-Gerrit Cole improved to 2-0, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 3-1 on Monday. Cole struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.47 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 6 6:39 PM PT7:39 PM MT8:39 PM CT9:39 PM ET21:39 ET1:39 GMT9:39 6:39 PM MST8:39 PM EST7:39 PM CST9:09 PM VEN5:39 UAE (+1)7:39 PM CT-Gerrit Cole improved to 1-0, allowing four hits over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-2 on Tuesday. Cole struck out 13, ending the game with a 1.46 ERA and 0.89 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 1 2:04 PM PT3:04 PM MT4:04 PM CT5:04 PM ET17:04 ET21:04 GMT5:04 2:04 PM MST4:04 PM EST3:04 PM CST4:34 PM VEN1:04 UAE (+1)3:04 PM CT-Gerrit Cole allowed two runs on five hits and two walks in 5.1 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 3-2 on Thursday. Cole struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Pit 10 7 0 - 0 19 19 0 117.1 109 43 42 7 28 0 100 1.17 3.22
2014 Pit 11 5 0 - 0 22 22 0 138.0 127 58 56 11 40 1 138 1.21 3.65
2015 Pit 19 8 0 - 0 32 32 0 208.0 183 71 60 11 44 1 202 1.09 2.60
2016 Pit 7 10 0 - 0 21 21 1 116.0 131 57 50 7 36 3 98 1.44 3.88
2017 Pit 12 12 0 - 0 33 33 0 203.0 199 98 96 31 55 1 196 1.25 4.26
2018 Hou 15 5 0 - 0 32 32 1 200.1 143 68 64 19 64 0 276 1.03 2.88
2019 Hou 20 5 0 - 0 33 33 0 212.1 142 66 59 29 48 0 326 0.89 2.50
2020 NYY 7 3 0 - 0 12 12 2 73.0 53 27 23 14 17 0 94 0.96 2.84
2021 NYY 16 8 0 - 0 30 30 2 181.1 151 69 65 24 41 0 243 1.06 3.23
Career 117 63 0 - 0 234 234 6 1449.1 1238 557 515 153 373 6 1673 1.11 3.20

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Pit 19 34 3 7 0 0 0 5 1 14 0 0 .206 .229 .206
2014 Pit 23 46 3 8 0 0 1 2 2 17 0 0 .174 .208 .239
2015 Pit 33 60 5 9 0 0 0 2 2 28 0 0 .150 .177 .150
2016 Pit 21 40 3 8 1 0 1 3 0 19 0 0 .200 .220 .300
2017 Pit 34 55 3 9 1 0 1 3 1 21 0 0 .164 .179 .236
2018 Hou 32 9 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 8 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Hou 33 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 237 251 17 41 2 0 3 15 6 112 0 0 .163 .186 .207

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Pit Total 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.0 5 3 3 2 2 0 10 2.45
    LDS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.0 5 3 3 2 2 0 10 2.45
2015 Pit Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 6 4 4 2 1 0 4 7.20
    WC 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 6 4 4 2 1 0 4 7.20
2018 Hou Total 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 9 6 5 1 2 0 17 3.46
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 3 1 1 1 0 0 12 1.29
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 6 5 4 0 2 0 5 6.00
2019 Hou Total 4 1 0 - 0 5 5 0 36.2 21 7 7 4 11 0 47 1.72
    LDS 2 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 15.2 6 1 1 1 3 0 25 0.57
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 4 0 0 0 5 0 7 0.00
    WS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 14.0 11 6 6 3 3 0 15 3.86
2020 NYY Total 2 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 18.1 13 6 6 4 4 1 30 2.95
    WC 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 6 2 2 1 0 0 13 2.57
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.1 7 4 4 3 4 1 17 3.18
2021 NYY Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.0 4 3 3 2 2 0 3 13.50
    WC 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.0 4 3 3 2 2 0 3 13.50
Career 8 5 0 - 0 14 14 0 86.0 58 29 28 15 22 1 111 2.93

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Pit Total 2 4 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
    LDS 2 4 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2015 Pit Total 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Hou Total 5 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 14 8 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 4 0 0 .125 .125 .125


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1425 102 90 97.7 48
Curveball 466 88 76 83.5 15.7
Slider 658 92 84 88.4 22.16
Changeup 420 95 85 89.9 14.15

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.