Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#43
Garrett Richards
ERA W-L K
4.56 7-7 112
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-2 / 210
Position: SPBorn: 5/27/1988 Birthplace: Riverside, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Supplemental Round by Angels (2009)


Latest News
Sep. 21 7:52 PM PT8:52 PM MT9:52 PM CT10:52 PM ET22:52 ET2:52 GMT10:52 7:52 PM MST9:52 PM EST8:52 PM CST10:22 PM VEN6:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed one run on one hit in 1.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Mets 6-3 on Tuesday. Richards did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.56 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 19 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST2:15 PM CST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)2:15 PM CT-Garrett Richards recorded his third save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-6 on Sunday. Richards struck out one, ending the game with a 4.53 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 18 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST2:24 PM CST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)2:24 PM CT-Garrett Richards walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 9-3 on Saturday. Richards struck out two, ending the game with a 4.57 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 15 5:11 PM PT6:11 PM MT7:11 PM CT8:11 PM ET20:11 ET0:11 GMT8:11 5:11 PM MST7:11 PM EST6:11 PM CST7:41 PM VEN4:11 UAE (+1)6:11 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed two hits without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Seattle Mariners 9-4 on Wednesday. Richards struck out one, ending the game with a 4.60 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 11 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST9:28 PM CST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed five runs - zero earned - on two hits and two walks in 0.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Chicago White Sox 9-8 on Saturday. Richards struck out one, ending the game with a 4.68 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 8 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST8:02 PM CST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)8:02 PM CT-Garrett Richards improved to 7-7, allowing one hit and one walk over 0.1 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 2-1 on Wednesday. Richards struck out one, ending the game with a 4.70 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 6 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST4:12 PM CST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed one run on three hits in 2.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 11-10 on Monday. Richards struck out three, ending the game with a 4.71 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)8:09 PM CT-Garrett Richards recorded his second save, allowing no runs on one hit in 3.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 4-0 on Thursday. Richards struck out four, ending the game with a 4.73 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 5:11 PM PT6:11 PM MT7:11 PM CT8:11 PM ET20:11 ET0:11 GMT8:11 5:11 PM MST7:11 PM EST6:11 PM CST7:41 PM VEN4:11 UAE (+1)6:11 PM CT-Garrett Richards did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Cleveland Indians 5-3 on Saturday. Richards did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.85 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 27 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)8:13 PM CT-Garrett Richards did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Cleveland Indians 4-3 on Friday. Richards struck out two, ending the game with a 4.86 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 26 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST8:48 PM CST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed one hit and two walks without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 12-2 on Thursday. Richards did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.90 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 21 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST8:46 PM CST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)8:46 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Texas Rangers 10-1 on Saturday. Richards struck out one, ending the game with a 4.94 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST8:58 PM CST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Garrett Richards walked one and didn't allow a hit in 4.0 scoreless innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 5-2 on Wednesday. Richards struck out five, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)8:23 PM CT-Garrett Richards recorded his first save, allowing no runs on four hits in 3.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-1 on Friday. Richards struck out four, ending the game with a 5.08 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 8 2:15 PM PT3:15 PM MT4:15 PM CT5:15 PM ET17:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST3:15 PM CST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed four runs - three earned - on six hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 9-8 on Sunday. Richards struck out two, ending the game with a 5.22 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)8:44 PM CT-Garrett Richards fell to 6-7, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 4-2 on Tuesday. Richards struck out five, ending the game with a 5.21 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
July 28 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST2:52 PM CST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)2:52 PM CT-Garrett Richards fell to 6-6, allowing four runs on eight hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 4-1 on Wednesday. Richards struck out two, ending the game with a 5.15 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
July 21 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)8:07 PM CT-Garrett Richards improved to 6-5, allowing four runs on four hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-4 on Wednesday. Richards struck out five, ending the game with a 4.99 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
July 9 8:06 PM PT9:06 PM MT10:06 PM CT11:06 PM ET23:06 ET3:06 GMT11:06 8:06 PM MST10:06 PM EST9:06 PM CST10:36 PM VEN7:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-Garrett Richards improved to 5-5, allowing three runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 11-5 on Friday. Richards struck out four, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
July 3 8:45 PM PT9:45 PM MT10:45 PM CT11:45 PM ET23:45 ET3:45 GMT11:45 8:45 PM MST10:45 PM EST9:45 PM CST11:15 PM VEN7:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed two runs on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Oakland Athletics 7-6 on Saturday. Richards struck out two, ending the game with a 4.88 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
June 28 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST8:22 PM CST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)8:22 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed five runs on 11 hits in 5.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-5 on Monday. Richards struck out three, ending the game with a 4.96 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
June 23 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-Garrett Richards fell to 4-5, allowing five runs - four earned - on three hits and four walks in 1.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 8-2 on Wednesday. Richards did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.74 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
June 16 8:49 PM PT9:49 PM MT10:49 PM CT11:49 PM ET23:49 ET3:49 GMT11:49 8:49 PM MST10:49 PM EST9:49 PM CST11:19 PM VEN7:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed six runs - four earned - on seven hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Atlanta Braves 10-8 on Wednesday. Richards struck out three, ending the game with a 4.36 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
June 11 8:46 PM PT9:46 PM MT10:46 PM CT11:46 PM ET23:46 ET3:46 GMT11:46 8:46 PM MST10:46 PM EST9:46 PM CST11:16 PM VEN7:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed four runs on 11 hits and two walks in 5.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 6-5 on Friday. Richards struck out three, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
June 6 8:04 PM PT9:04 PM MT10:04 PM CT11:04 PM ET23:04 ET3:04 GMT11:04 8:04 PM MST10:04 PM EST9:04 PM CST10:34 PM VEN7:04 UAE (+1)9:04 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed three runs on eight hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Yankees 6-5 on Sunday. Richards struck out six, ending the game with a 3.88 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
June 1 8:37 PM PT9:37 PM MT10:37 PM CT11:37 PM ET23:37 ET3:37 GMT11:37 8:37 PM MST10:37 PM EST9:37 PM CST11:07 PM VEN7:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Garrett Richards fell to 4-4, allowing two runs on four hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Houston Astros 5-1 on Tuesday. Richards struck out five, ending the game with a 3.75 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
May 25 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)8:23 PM CT-Garrett Richards fell to 4-3, allowing three runs on six hits and four walks in 5.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Atlanta Braves 3-1 on Tuesday. Richards struck out four, ending the game with a 3.83 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
May 19 7:52 PM PT8:52 PM MT9:52 PM CT10:52 PM ET22:52 ET2:52 GMT10:52 7:52 PM MST9:52 PM EST8:52 PM CST10:22 PM VEN6:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Garrett Richards improved to 4-2, allowing two runs on seven hits and four walks in 6.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-3 on Wednesday. Richards struck out five, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
May 13 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)8:09 PM CT-Garrett Richards improved to 3-2, allowing five hits and three walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Oakland Athletics 8-1 on Thursday. Richards struck out four, ending the game with a 3.89 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
May 8 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)8:34 PM CT-Garrett Richards improved to 2-2, allowing four runs on eight hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 11-6 on Saturday. Richards struck out five, ending the game with a 4.54 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
May 2 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST3:39 PM CST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed one run on four hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Texas Rangers 5-3 on Sunday. Richards struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 6:55 PM PT7:55 PM MT8:55 PM CT9:55 PM ET21:55 ET1:55 GMT9:55 6:55 PM MST8:55 PM EST7:55 PM CST9:25 PM VEN5:55 UAE (+1)7:55 PM CT-Garrett Richards improved to 1-2, allowing one run on seven hits in 7.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Mets 2-1 on Tuesday. Richards struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.94 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Garrett Richards fell to 0-2, allowing four runs on four hits and six walks in 4.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 6-3 on Wednesday. Richards struck out two, ending the game with a 6.48 ERA and 1.86 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 15 1:47 PM PT2:47 PM MT3:47 PM CT4:47 PM ET16:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST2:47 PM CST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)2:47 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed two runs - zero earned - on four hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Minnesota Twins 4-3 on Thursday. Richards struck out four, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST8:46 PM CST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)8:46 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed two runs on three hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-4 on Saturday. Richards struck out four, ending the game with a 10.29 ERA and 2.14 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 4 1:46 PM PT2:46 PM MT3:46 PM CT4:46 PM ET16:46 ET20:46 GMT4:46 1:46 PM MST3:46 PM EST2:46 PM CST4:16 PM VEN0:46 UAE (+1)2:46 PM CT-Garrett Richards fell to 0-1, allowing six runs on seven hits and two walks in 2.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 11-3 on Sunday. Richards struck out two, ending the game with a 27.00 ERA and 4.50 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2011 LAA 0 2 0 - 0 7 3 0 14.0 16 11 9 4 7 0 9 1.64 5.79
2012 LAA 4 3 1 - 3 30 9 0 71.0 77 46 37 7 34 1 47 1.56 4.69
2013 LAA 7 8 1 - 2 47 17 1 145.0 151 73 67 12 44 4 101 1.34 4.16
2014 LAA 13 4 0 - 0 26 26 1 168.2 124 51 49 5 51 1 164 1.04 2.61
2015 LAA 15 12 0 - 0 32 32 1 207.1 181 94 84 20 76 2 176 1.24 3.65
2016 LAA 1 3 0 - 0 6 6 0 34.2 31 16 9 2 15 1 34 1.33 2.34
2017 LAA 0 2 0 - 0 6 6 0 27.2 18 8 7 1 7 0 27 0.90 2.28
2018 LAA 5 4 0 - 0 16 16 0 76.1 64 43 31 11 34 0 87 1.28 3.66
2019 SD 0 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 8.2 10 8 8 2 6 0 11 1.85 8.31
2020 SD 2 2 0 - 0 14 10 0 51.1 47 23 23 7 17 0 46 1.25 4.03
2021 Bos 7 7 3 - 3 36 22 0 132.1 151 78 67 19 56 0 112 1.56 4.56
Career 54 48 5 - 8 223 150 3 937.0 870 451 391 90 347 9 814 1.30 3.76

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 LAA 30 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 LAA 26 11 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 SD 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 Bos 36 5 0 1 1 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .200 .200 .400
Career 223 20 0 1 1 0 0 1 0 8 0 0 .050 .050 .100

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2020 SD Total 0 1 0 - 0 4 0 0 2.2 1 2 2 0 2 0 4 6.75
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.1 1 2 2 0 2 0 3 13.50
Career 0 1 0 - 0 4 0 0 2.2 1 2 2 0 2 0 4 6.75


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1219 98 86 94.3 54.27
Curveball 280 84 64 78.3 12.47
Slider 600 92 84 88.1 26.71
Changeup 147 93 87 90.6 6.54

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.