Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#40
Madison Bumgarner
ERA W-L K
4.67 7-10 124
Team: ArizonaHt / Wt: 6-4 / 255
Position: SPBorn: 8/1/1989 Birthplace: Hickory, North Carolina
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: 1st Round by Giants (2007)


Latest News
Oct. 1 10:20 PM PT11:20 PM MT12:20 AM CT1:20 AM ET1:20 ET5:20 GMT13:20 10:20 PM MST12:20 AM EST11:20 PM CST12:50 AM VEN9:20 UAE11:20 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner allowed four runs on eight hits in 5.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Francisco Giants 5-4 on Thursday. Bumgarner struck out four, ending the game with a 4.67 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 23 3:49 PM PT4:49 PM MT5:49 PM CT6:49 PM ET18:49 ET22:49 GMT6:49 3:49 PM MST5:49 PM EST4:49 PM CST6:19 PM VEN2:49 UAE (+1)4:49 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner allowed three runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Atlanta Braves 6-4 on Thursday. Bumgarner struck out five, ending the game with a 4.58 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 17 8:59 PM PT9:59 PM MT10:59 PM CT11:59 PM ET23:59 ET3:59 GMT11:59 8:59 PM MST10:59 PM EST9:59 PM CST11:29 PM VEN7:59 UAE (+1)9:59 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner allowed two runs on one hit and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Houston Astros 4-3 on Friday. Bumgarner struck out three, ending the game with a 4.56 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 11 9:51 PM PT10:51 PM MT11:51 PM CT12:51 AM ET0:51 ET4:51 GMT12:51 9:51 PM MST11:51 PM EST10:51 PM CST12:21 AM VEN8:51 UAE10:51 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner fell to 7-10, allowing five runs on eight hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Seattle Mariners 5-4 on Friday. Bumgarner struck out six, ending the game with a 4.66 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 4 10:19 PM PT11:19 PM MT12:19 AM CT1:19 AM ET1:19 ET5:19 GMT13:19 10:19 PM MST12:19 AM EST11:19 PM CST12:49 AM VEN9:19 UAE11:19 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner allowed five runs on five hits and five walks in 6.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Seattle Mariners 6-5 on Friday. Bumgarner struck out five, ending the game with a 4.52 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 29 1:39 PM PT2:39 PM MT3:39 PM CT4:39 PM ET16:39 ET20:39 GMT4:39 1:39 PM MST3:39 PM EST2:39 PM CST4:09 PM VEN0:39 UAE (+1)2:39 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner fell to 7-9, allowing five runs on seven hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 7-4 on Sunday. Bumgarner struck out three, ending the game with a 4.37 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 24 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)7:57 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner fell to 7-8, allowing four runs on six hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-2 on Tuesday. Bumgarner struck out five, ending the game with a 4.17 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 19 3:32 PM PT4:32 PM MT5:32 PM CT6:32 PM ET18:32 ET22:32 GMT6:32 3:32 PM MST5:32 PM EST4:32 PM CST6:02 PM VEN2:32 UAE (+1)4:32 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner improved to 7-7, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 8.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 6-2 on Thursday. Bumgarner struck out five, ending the game with a 4.06 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 14 9:49 PM PT10:49 PM MT11:49 PM CT12:49 AM ET0:49 ET4:49 GMT12:49 9:49 PM MST11:49 PM EST10:49 PM CST12:19 AM VEN8:49 UAE10:49 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner allowed two runs on nine hits in 6.2 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the San Diego Padres 3-2 on Friday. Bumgarner struck out six, ending the game with a 4.30 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 8 3:58 PM PT4:58 PM MT5:58 PM CT6:58 PM ET18:58 ET22:58 GMT6:58 3:58 PM MST5:58 PM EST4:58 PM CST6:28 PM VEN2:58 UAE (+1)4:58 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner fell to 6-7, allowing two runs on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Diego Padres 2-0 on Sunday. Bumgarner struck out five, ending the game with a 4.42 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 4 10:20 PM PT11:20 PM MT12:20 AM CT1:20 AM ET1:20 ET5:20 GMT13:20 10:20 PM MST12:20 AM EST11:20 PM CST12:50 AM VEN9:20 UAE11:20 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner improved to 6-6, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the San Francisco Giants 3-1 on Tuesday. Bumgarner struck out four, ending the game with a 4.57 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
July 28 8:02 PM PT9:02 PM MT10:02 PM CT11:02 PM ET23:02 ET3:02 GMT11:02 8:02 PM MST10:02 PM EST9:02 PM CST10:32 PM VEN7:02 UAE (+1)9:02 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner improved to 5-6, allowing two runs on four hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Texas Rangers 3-2 on Wednesday. Bumgarner struck out four, ending the game with a 4.87 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
July 21 4:11 PM PT5:11 PM MT6:11 PM CT7:11 PM ET19:11 ET23:11 GMT7:11 4:11 PM MST6:11 PM EST5:11 PM CST6:41 PM VEN3:11 UAE (+1)5:11 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner allowed three runs - one earned - on seven hits in 5.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-4 on Wednesday. Bumgarner struck out one, ending the game with a 5.09 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
July 17 10:49 PM PT11:49 PM MT12:49 AM CT1:49 AM ET1:49 ET5:49 GMT13:49 10:49 PM MST12:49 AM EST11:49 PM CST1:19 AM VEN9:49 UAE11:49 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner fell to 4-6, allowing two runs - one earned - on two hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Chicago Cubs 5-1 on Friday. Bumgarner struck out six, ending the game with a 5.35 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
June 3 6:30 PM PT7:30 PM MT8:30 PM CT9:30 PM ET21:30 ET1:30 GMT9:30 6:30 PM MST8:30 PM EST7:30 PM CST9:00 PM VEN5:30 UAE (+1)7:30 PM CT-Bumgarner (left shoulder inflammation) has been activated from the injured list to start Friday against the Cubs.
Analysis: Bumgarner struggled prior to going on the IL, allowing 16 earned runs in 12 innings over his last three starts to raise his season ERA to 5.73.
June 2 4:00 PM PT5:00 PM MT6:00 PM CT7:00 PM ET19:00 ET23:00 GMT7:00 4:00 PM MST6:00 PM EST5:00 PM CST6:30 PM VEN3:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner allowed five runs on eight hits in 2.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the New York Mets 7-6 on Wednesday. Bumgarner struck out two, ending the game with a 5.73 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
May 29 10:19 PM PT11:19 PM MT12:19 AM CT1:19 AM ET1:19 ET5:19 GMT13:19 10:19 PM MST12:19 AM EST11:19 PM CST12:49 AM VEN9:19 UAE11:19 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner fell to 4-5, allowing seven runs - six earned - on five hits and four walks in 4.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 8-6 on Friday. Bumgarner struck out four, ending the game with a 5.15 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
May 22 3:34 PM PT4:34 PM MT5:34 PM CT6:34 PM ET18:34 ET22:34 GMT6:34 3:34 PM MST5:34 PM EST4:34 PM CST6:04 PM VEN2:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner fell to 4-4, allowing seven runs - five earned - on eight hits in 6.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Colorado Rockies 7-6 on Saturday. Bumgarner struck out two, ending the game with a 4.53 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
May 18 10:20 PM PT11:20 PM MT12:20 AM CT1:20 AM ET1:20 ET5:20 GMT13:20 10:20 PM MST12:20 AM EST11:20 PM CST12:50 AM VEN9:20 UAE11:20 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner fell to 4-3, allowing two runs on two hits and four walks in 4.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 3-1 on Monday. Bumgarner struck out five, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
May 12 9:48 PM PT10:48 PM MT11:48 PM CT12:48 AM ET0:48 ET4:48 GMT12:48 9:48 PM MST11:48 PM EST10:48 PM CST12:18 AM VEN8:48 UAE10:48 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner improved to 4-2, allowing four hits over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Miami Marlins 11-3 on Tuesday. Bumgarner struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.12 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
May 6 6:27 PM PT7:27 PM MT8:27 PM CT9:27 PM ET21:27 ET1:27 GMT9:27 6:27 PM MST8:27 PM EST7:27 PM CST8:57 PM VEN5:27 UAE (+1)7:27 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner allowed one run on two hits in 6.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Miami Marlins 3-1 on Thursday. Bumgarner struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
May 1 9:42 PM PT10:42 PM MT11:42 PM CT12:42 AM ET0:42 ET4:42 GMT12:42 9:42 PM MST11:42 PM EST10:42 PM CST12:12 AM VEN8:42 UAE10:42 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner improved to 3-2, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Colorado Rockies 7-2 on Friday. Bumgarner struck out six, ending the game with a 5.58 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 3:32 PM PT4:32 PM MT5:32 PM CT6:32 PM ET18:32 ET22:32 GMT6:32 3:32 PM MST5:32 PM EST4:32 PM CST6:02 PM VEN2:32 UAE (+1)4:32 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner improved to 2-2, allowing no hits over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Atlanta Braves 7-0 on Sunday. Bumgarner struck out seven, ending the game with a 6.31 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 18 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST2:31 PM CST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)2:31 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner improved to 1-2, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Washington Nationals 5-2 on Sunday. Bumgarner struck out five, ending the game with an 8.68 ERA and 1.77 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 10:14 PM PT11:14 PM MT12:14 AM CT1:14 AM ET1:14 ET5:14 GMT13:14 10:14 PM MST12:14 AM EST11:14 PM CST12:44 AM VEN9:14 UAE11:14 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner fell to 0-2, allowing six runs on seven hits and three walks in 4.2 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Oakland Athletics 9-5 on Monday. Bumgarner struck out five, ending the game with an 11.20 ERA and 2.20 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 8:52 PM PT9:52 PM MT10:52 PM CT11:52 PM ET23:52 ET3:52 GMT11:52 8:52 PM MST10:52 PM EST9:52 PM CST11:22 PM VEN7:52 UAE (+1)9:52 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner fell to 0-1, allowing five runs on eight hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Colorado Rockies 8-0 on Wednesday. Bumgarner struck out four, ending the game with an 11.00 ERA and 2.22 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 1 4:44 PM PT5:44 PM MT6:44 PM CT7:44 PM ET19:44 ET23:44 GMT7:44 4:44 PM MST6:44 PM EST5:44 PM CST7:14 PM VEN3:44 UAE (+1)5:44 PM CT-Madison Bumgarner allowed six runs on seven hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Diego Padres 8-7 on Thursday. Bumgarner struck out six, ending the game with a 13.50 ERA and 2.50 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2009 SF 0 0 0 - 0 4 1 0 10.0 8 2 2 2 3 1 10 1.10 1.80
2010 SF 7 6 0 - 0 18 18 0 111.0 119 40 37 11 26 2 86 1.31 3.00
2011 SF 13 13 0 - 0 33 33 0 204.2 202 82 73 12 46 5 191 1.21 3.21
2012 SF 16 11 0 - 0 32 32 2 208.1 183 87 78 23 49 6 191 1.11 3.37
2013 SF 13 9 0 - 0 31 31 0 201.1 146 68 62 15 62 6 199 1.03 2.77
2014 SF 18 10 0 - 0 33 33 4 217.1 194 81 72 21 43 3 219 1.09 2.98
2015 SF 18 9 0 - 0 32 32 4 218.1 181 73 71 21 39 2 234 1.01 2.93
2016 SF 15 9 0 - 0 34 34 4 226.2 179 79 69 26 54 0 251 1.03 2.74
2017 SF 4 9 0 - 0 17 17 1 111.0 101 41 41 17 20 3 101 1.09 3.32
2018 SF 6 7 0 - 0 21 21 0 129.2 118 51 47 14 43 3 109 1.24 3.26
2019 SF 9 9 0 - 0 34 34 0 207.2 191 99 90 30 43 3 203 1.13 3.90
2020 Ari 1 4 0 - 0 9 9 0 41.2 47 31 30 13 13 2 30 1.44 6.48
2021 Ari 7 10 0 - 0 26 26 1 146.1 134 82 76 24 39 2 124 1.18 4.67
Career 127 106 0 - 0 324 321 16 2034.0 1803 816 748 229 480 38 1948 1.12 3.31

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 SF 4 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2010 SF 20 39 2 7 1 0 0 3 2 11 0 0 .179 .220 .205
2011 SF 35 59 5 7 4 0 0 3 5 18 0 0 .119 .188 .186
2012 SF 32 68 4 11 1 0 2 6 1 25 0 0 .162 .174 .265
2013 SF 31 56 3 6 0 0 0 4 5 30 0 0 .107 .177 .107
2014 SF 34 66 10 17 2 0 4 15 2 29 0 0 .258 .286 .470
2015 SF 36 77 9 19 2 0 5 9 3 27 0 0 .247 .275 .468
2016 SF 36 86 8 16 6 0 3 9 10 43 0 0 .186 .268 .360
2017 SF 17 34 4 7 0 0 3 5 2 11 0 0 .206 .250 .471
2018 SF 22 44 2 7 2 0 0 4 1 20 0 0 .159 .174 .205
2019 SF 37 63 4 8 0 0 2 4 9 40 0 0 .127 .236 .222
2021 Ari 28 39 3 4 1 0 0 3 9 29 0 0 .103 .280 .128
Career 341 633 54 109 19 0 19 65 49 284 0 0 .172 .232 .292

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2010 SF Total 2 0 0 - 0 4 3 0 20.2 18 5 5 1 5 1 18 2.18
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 6 2 2 1 1 0 5 3.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 6.2 9 3 3 0 2 1 7 4.05
    WS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 8.0 3 0 0 0 2 0 6 0.00
2012 SF Total 1 2 0 - 0 3 3 0 15.0 17 10 10 3 4 0 14 6.00
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 7 4 4 1 1 0 4 8.31
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.2 8 6 6 2 1 0 2 14.73
    WS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 2 0 0 0 2 0 8 0.00
2014 SF Total 4 1 1 - 1 7 6 2 52.2 28 7 6 3 6 0 45 1.03
    WC 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 1 9.0 4 0 0 0 1 0 10 0.00
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 6 3 2 0 1 0 6 2.57
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 15.2 9 3 3 2 3 0 12 1.72
    WS 2 0 1 - 1 3 2 1 21.0 9 1 1 1 1 0 17 0.43
2016 SF Total 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 1 14.0 11 3 3 1 3 1 10 1.93
    WC 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 1 9.0 4 0 0 0 2 1 6 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 7 3 3 1 1 0 4 5.40
Career 8 3 1 - 1 16 14 3 102.1 74 25 24 8 18 2 87 2.11

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 SF Total 4 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 SF Total 3 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 SF Total 7 15 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 8 0 0 .000 .063 .000
    WC 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 .000 .500 .000
    LCS 2 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 3 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 SF Total 3 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 17 27 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 14 0 0 .000 .036 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 837 94 86 90.4 36.49
Curveball 497 82 73 77.8 21.67
Changeup 180 86 81 83.8 7.85
Cut Fastball 780 90 82 86 34

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.