Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#21
Max Scherzer
ERA W-L K
2.29 11-5 173
Team: NY MetsHt / Wt: 6-3 / 215
Position: SPBorn: 7/27/1984 Birthplace: St. Louis, Missouri
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Diamondbacks (2006)


Latest News
Oct. 1 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)8:28 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 11-5, allowing four runs on nine hits in 5.2 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Atlanta Braves 4-2 on Saturday. Scherzer struck out four, ending the game with a 2.29 ERA and 0.91 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 25 4:20 PM PT5:20 PM MT6:20 PM CT7:20 PM ET19:20 ET23:20 GMT7:20 4:20 PM MST6:20 PM EST5:20 PM CST6:50 PM VEN3:20 UAE (+1)5:20 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 11-4, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Oakland Athletics 13-4 on Sunday. Scherzer struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.13 ERA and 0.88 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 19 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST8:35 PM CST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)8:35 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 10-4, allowing no hits over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 7-2 on Monday. Scherzer struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.15 ERA and 0.88 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 7 7:18 AM PT8:18 AM MT9:18 AM CT10:18 AM ET10:18 ET14:18 GMT22:18 7:18 AM MST9:18 AM EST8:18 AM CST9:48 AM VEN18:18 UAE8:18 AM CT-Scherzer (left oblique irritation) was activated to start Monday night at Milwaukee.
Analysis: Scherzer, who exited Sept. 3 against the Nationals, struck out seven and threw 59 pitches in 3 2/3 innings during a rehab start with Triple-A Syracuse on Wednesday. The three-time Cy Young Award missed nearly two months earlier this season with a strained oblique. Scherzer is 9-4 with a 2.26 ERA in 20 starts in his first season with the Mets. He has struck out 153 in 127 2/3 innings.
Sep. 3 7:16 PM PT8:16 PM MT9:16 PM CT10:16 PM ET22:16 ET2:16 GMT10:16 7:16 PM MST9:16 PM EST8:16 PM CST9:46 PM VEN6:16 UAE (+1)8:16 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the New York Mets lost to the Washington Nationals 7-1 on Saturday. Scherzer struck out five, ending the game with a 2.26 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 1:37 PM PT2:37 PM MT3:37 PM CT4:37 PM ET16:37 ET20:37 GMT4:37 1:37 PM MST3:37 PM EST2:37 PM CST4:07 PM VEN0:37 UAE (+1)2:37 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 9-4, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Colorado Rockies 1-0 on Sunday. Scherzer struck out 11, ending the game with a 2.27 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 22 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST8:02 PM CST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)8:02 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 9-3, allowing four runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.2 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the New York Yankees 4-2 on Monday. Scherzer struck out three, ending the game with a 2.33 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 17 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST9:28 PM CST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 9-2, allowing four runs on three hits and three walks in 6.1 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Atlanta Braves 9-7 on Wednesday. Scherzer struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.15 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)8:12 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed one run on nine hits in 7.0 innings as the New York Mets lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 2-1 on Friday. Scherzer struck out six, ending the game with a 1.93 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 6 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST8:19 PM CST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)8:19 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 8-2, allowing four hits over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Atlanta Braves 6-2 on Saturday. Scherzer struck out 11, ending the game with a 1.98 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 1 7:31 PM PT8:31 PM MT9:31 PM CT10:31 PM ET22:31 ET2:31 GMT10:31 7:31 PM MST9:31 PM EST8:31 PM CST10:01 PM VEN6:31 UAE (+1)8:31 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 7-2, allowing three runs - two earned - on six hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Washington Nationals 7-3 on Monday. Scherzer struck out five, ending the game with a 2.13 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
July 27 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)8:24 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed five hits and two walks without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the New York Mets defeated the New York Yankees 3-2 on Wednesday. Scherzer struck out six, ending the game with a 2.09 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
July 22 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST8:48 PM CST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 6-2, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the San Diego Padres 4-1 on Friday. Scherzer struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.28 ERA and 0.89 WHIP on the season.
July 16 8:44 PM PT9:44 PM MT10:44 PM CT11:44 PM ET23:44 ET3:44 GMT11:44 8:44 PM MST10:44 PM EST9:44 PM CST11:14 PM VEN7:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed two runs on eight hits and one walk in 6.1 innings as the New York Mets defeated the Chicago Cubs 4-3 on Saturday. Scherzer struck out 11, ending the game with a 2.22 ERA and 0.88 WHIP on the season.
July 11 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST8:29 PM CST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)8:29 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 6-1, allowing one run on three hits in 7.0 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Atlanta Braves 4-1 on Monday. Scherzer struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.15 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
July 5 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)8:40 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed two hits without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the New York Mets lost to the Cincinnati Reds 1-0 on Tuesday. Scherzer struck out 11, ending the game with a 2.26 ERA and 0.88 WHIP on the season.
May 18 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST8:36 PM CST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)8:36 PM CT-Scherzer (strained right oblique) came off the injured list Tuesday in Cincinnati and will make his first start for the Mets since May 18.
Analysis: The three-time Cy Young Award winner went 5-1 with a 2.54 ERA in eight starts before getting hurt. He's struck out 59 in 49 2/3 innings.
May 13 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST8:10 PM CST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)8:10 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed one run on three hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the New York Mets lost to the Seattle Mariners 2-1 on Friday. Scherzer struck out six, ending the game with a 2.66 ERA and 0.91 WHIP on the season.
May 8 12:38 PM PT1:38 PM MT2:38 PM CT3:38 PM ET15:38 ET19:38 GMT3:38 12:38 PM MST2:38 PM EST1:38 PM CST3:08 PM VEN23:38 UAE1:38 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 4-1, allowing three runs on 10 hits in 6.0 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 3-2 on Sunday. Scherzer struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.92 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
May 1 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 4-0, allowing four runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 10-6 on Sunday. Scherzer struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.61 ERA and 0.81 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 7:52 PM PT8:52 PM MT9:52 PM CT10:52 PM ET22:52 ET2:52 GMT10:52 7:52 PM MST9:52 PM EST8:52 PM CST10:22 PM VEN6:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the New York Mets defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 5-2 on Monday. Scherzer struck out 10, ending the game with a 1.80 ERA and 0.76 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)8:18 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 3-0, allowing one run on one hit and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the San Francisco Giants 3-1 on Tuesday. Scherzer struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.50 ERA and 0.89 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 2:16 PM PT3:16 PM MT4:16 PM CT5:16 PM ET17:16 ET21:16 GMT5:16 2:16 PM MST4:16 PM EST3:16 PM CST4:46 PM VEN1:16 UAE (+1)3:16 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 2-0, allowing one run on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 9-6 on Wednesday. Scherzer struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 8:49 PM PT9:49 PM MT10:49 PM CT11:49 PM ET23:49 ET3:49 GMT11:49 8:49 PM MST10:49 PM EST9:49 PM CST11:19 PM VEN7:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 1-0, allowing three runs on three hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Washington Nationals 7-3 on Friday. Scherzer struck out six, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2008 Ari 0 4 0 - 0 16 7 0 56.0 48 24 19 5 21 1 66 1.23 3.05
2009 Ari 9 11 0 - 0 30 30 0 170.1 166 94 78 20 63 1 174 1.34 4.12
2010 Det 12 11 0 - 0 31 31 0 195.2 174 84 76 20 70 1 184 1.25 3.50
2011 Det 15 9 0 - 0 33 33 0 195.0 207 101 96 29 56 1 174 1.35 4.43
2012 Det 16 7 0 - 0 32 32 0 187.2 179 82 78 23 60 2 231 1.27 3.74
2013 Det 21 3 0 - 0 32 32 0 214.1 152 73 69 18 56 0 240 0.97 2.90
2014 Det 18 5 0 - 0 33 33 1 220.1 196 80 77 18 63 1 252 1.18 3.15
2015 Was 14 12 0 - 0 33 33 4 228.2 176 74 71 27 34 2 276 0.92 2.79
2016 Was 20 7 0 - 0 34 34 1 228.1 165 77 75 31 56 2 284 0.97 2.96
2017 Was 16 6 0 - 0 31 31 2 200.2 126 62 56 22 55 2 268 0.90 2.51
2018 Was 18 7 0 - 0 33 33 2 220.2 150 66 62 23 51 4 300 0.91 2.53
2019 Was 11 7 0 - 0 27 27 0 172.1 144 59 56 18 33 2 243 1.03 2.92
2020 Was 5 4 0 - 0 12 12 1 67.1 70 30 28 10 23 1 92 1.38 3.74
2021 Was 8 4 0 - 0 19 19 1 111.0 71 36 34 18 28 0 147 0.89 2.76
2021 LAD 7 0 0 - 0 11 11 0 68.1 48 17 15 5 8 0 89 0.82 1.98
2021 Tot 15 4 0 - 0 30 30 1 179.1 119 53 49 23 36 0 236 0.86 2.46
2022 NYM 11 5 0 - 0 23 23 0 145.1 108 39 37 13 24 0 173 0.91 2.29
Career 201 102 0 - 0 430 421 12 2682.0 2180 998 927 300 701 20 3193 1.07 3.11

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 Ari 17 13 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 4 0 0 .000 .071 .000
2009 Ari 31 53 4 12 2 0 0 3 3 17 0 0 .226 .268 .264
2010 Det 31 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 Det 33 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Det 32 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Det 32 3 0 1 1 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 .333 .333 .667
2014 Det 33 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Was 34 69 4 15 0 0 0 0 2 23 0 0 .217 .239 .217
2016 Was 34 70 4 13 1 0 0 12 2 30 0 0 .186 .208 .200
2017 Was 31 62 4 10 0 0 1 5 4 16 0 0 .161 .212 .210
2018 Was 35 70 8 17 2 0 0 6 1 14 1 0 .243 .274 .271
2019 Was 29 55 6 10 0 0 0 2 0 27 2 0 .182 .182 .182
2021 Was 19 35 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 13 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 LAD 11 24 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 15 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 Tot 30 59 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 28 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 437 464 31 78 6 0 1 30 13 161 3 0 .168 .194 .188

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2011 Det Total 1 1 0 - 0 4 3 0 15.2 15 10 10 1 9 0 14 5.74
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 7.1 4 1 1 0 4 0 7 1.23
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.1 11 9 9 1 5 0 7 9.72
2012 Det Total 1 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 17.1 12 5 4 1 4 0 26 2.08
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.1 3 1 0 0 1 0 8 0.00
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 2 1 1 0 2 0 10 1.59
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 7 3 3 1 1 0 8 4.26
2013 Det Total 2 1 0 - 0 4 3 0 22.1 12 7 7 1 11 1 34 2.82
    LDS 2 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 9.0 6 3 3 1 4 1 13 3.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.1 6 4 4 0 7 0 21 2.70
2014 Det Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.1 7 5 5 2 1 0 6 6.14
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.1 7 5 5 2 1 0 6 6.14
2016 Was Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.0 10 5 5 3 2 0 12 3.75
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.0 10 5 5 3 2 0 12 3.75
2017 Was Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 7.1 4 5 3 0 4 1 8 3.68
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 7.1 4 5 3 0 4 1 8 3.68
2019 Was Total 3 0 0 - 0 6 5 0 30.0 21 8 8 4 15 1 37 2.40
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 4 3 3 2 3 0 6 5.40
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 8.0 4 1 1 1 3 1 10 1.13
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 1 0 0 0 2 0 11 0.00
    WS 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.0 12 4 4 1 7 0 10 3.60
2021 LAD Total 0 1 1 - 1 4 3 0 16.2 10 4 4 2 5 0 23 2.16
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 3 1 1 0 3 0 4 2.08
    LDS 0 1 1 - 1 2 1 0 8.0 3 1 1 1 1 0 12 1.13
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 4 2 2 1 1 0 7 4.15
Career 7 6 1 - 1 26 21 0 128.2 91 49 46 14 51 3 160 3.22

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Was Total 2 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Was Total 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Was Total 6 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 LAD Total 4 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 - - -
    LDS 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 26 16 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 7 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 983 97 90 94.1 45.36
Curveball 200 79 71 75 9.23
Slider 513 88 82 85.1 23.67
Changeup 272 87 80 84.2 12.55
Cut Fastball 199 92 86 89.3 9.18

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2022 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.