Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#47
John Means
ERA S K
5.63 0 21
Team: BaltimoreHt / Wt: 6-3 / 230
Position: RPBorn: 4/24/1993 Birthplace: Olathe, Kansas
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 11th Round by Orioles (2014)


Latest News
Sep. 13 12:55 PM PT1:55 PM MT2:55 PM CT3:55 PM ET15:55 ET19:55 GMT3:55 12:55 PM MST2:55 PM EST1:55 PM CST3:25 PM VEN23:55 UAE2:55 PM CT-John Means allowed one run on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Yankees 3-1 on Sunday. Means struck out four, ending the game with a 5.63 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 8 7:17 PM PT8:17 PM MT9:17 PM CT10:17 PM ET22:17 ET2:17 GMT10:17 7:17 PM MST9:17 PM EST8:17 PM CST9:47 PM VEN6:17 UAE (+1)9:17 PM CT-John Means improved to 1-3, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the New York Mets 11-2 on Tuesday. Means struck out five, ending the game with a 6.58 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 4:28 PM PT5:28 PM MT6:28 PM CT7:28 PM ET19:28 ET23:28 GMT7:28 4:28 PM MST6:28 PM EST5:28 PM CST6:58 PM VEN3:28 UAE (+1)6:28 PM CT-John Means fell to 0-3, allowing four runs on eight hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Mets 9-4 on Wednesday. Means struck out one, ending the game with an 8.10 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 7:01 PM PT8:01 PM MT9:01 PM CT10:01 PM ET22:01 ET2:01 GMT10:01 7:01 PM MST9:01 PM EST8:01 PM CST9:31 PM VEN6:01 UAE (+1)9:01 PM CT-John Means allowed two runs on four hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 5-4 on Friday. Means struck out three, ending the game with an 8.59 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 21 7:42 PM PT8:42 PM MT9:42 PM CT10:42 PM ET22:42 ET2:42 GMT10:42 7:42 PM MST9:42 PM EST8:42 PM CST10:12 PM VEN6:42 UAE (+1)9:42 PM CT-John Means fell to 0-2, allowing three runs on four hits in 3.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Boston Red Sox 8-5 on Friday. Means struck out two, ending the game with a 10.13 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 1:48 PM PT2:48 PM MT3:48 PM CT4:48 PM ET16:48 ET20:48 GMT4:48 1:48 PM MST3:48 PM EST2:48 PM CST4:18 PM VEN0:48 UAE (+1)3:48 PM CT-John Means allowed three runs on four hits and one walk in 0.2 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Washington Nationals 6-5 on Sunday. Means did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 10.57 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 4 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST8:57 PM CST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-John Means fell to 0-1, allowing one run on two hits in 4.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Miami Marlins 4-0 on Tuesday. Means struck out four, ending the game with a 7.71 ERA and 0.71 WHIP on the season.
July 30 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST9:50 PM CST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)10:50 PM CT-John Means allowed five runs on two hits and one walk in 2.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Yankees 8-6 on Thursday. Means struck out two, ending the game with a 19.29 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
July 20 2:04 PM PT3:04 PM MT4:04 PM CT5:04 PM ET17:04 ET21:04 GMT5:04 2:04 PM MST4:04 PM EST3:04 PM CST4:34 PM VEN1:04 UAE (+1)4:04 PM CT-Means, who started the season on the injured list with left shoulder fatigue, will pitch Thursday against the Yankeees. Means was slated to be the opening day starter before going on the IL.
Analysis: Means went 12-11 with a 3.60 ERA as a rookie last year. He was Baltimore's All-Star representative.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 Bal 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 3.1 6 5 5 1 0 0 4 1.80 13.50
2019 Bal 12 11 0 - 0 31 27 0 155.0 138 68 62 23 38 0 121 1.14 3.60
2020 Bal 1 3 0 - 0 8 8 0 32.0 32 20 20 10 6 0 21 1.19 5.63
Career 13 14 0 - 0 40 35 0 190.1 176 93 87 34 44 0 146 1.16 4.11

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2019 Bal 31 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 1.000
Career 40 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 1.000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 269 97 91 93.9 49
Curveball 61 82 76 79.3 11.11
Slider 62 89 84 86.8 11.29
Changeup 157 87 82 84.9 28.6

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2020 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.