Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#21
Tanner Rainey
ERA S K
7.39 3 42
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-2 / 235
Position: RPBorn: 12/25/1992 Birthplace: Folsom, Louisiana
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 200th Round by Reds (2015)


Latest News
Oct. 2 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST6:04 PM CST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)6:04 PM CT-Tanner Rainey fell to 1-3, allowing three runs on two hits and two walks in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Boston Red Sox 5-3 on Saturday. Rainey struck out three, ending the game with a 7.39 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 28 9:29 PM PT10:29 PM MT11:29 PM CT12:29 AM ET0:29 ET4:29 GMT12:29 9:29 PM MST11:29 PM EST10:29 PM CST11:59 PM VEN8:29 UAE10:29 PM CT-Tanner Rainey recorded his third save, allowing one run on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Colorado Rockies 5-4 on Monday. Rainey did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 23 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)7:57 PM CT-Tanner Rainey walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 3-2 on Thursday. Rainey struck out two, ending the game with a 6.67 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 22 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST8:04 PM CST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)8:04 PM CT-Tanner Rainey recorded his second save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Miami Marlins 7-5 on Wednesday. Rainey did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.91 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 20 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST8:46 PM CST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)8:46 PM CT-Tanner Rainey did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Miami Marlins 8-7 on Monday. Rainey struck out three, ending the game with a 7.07 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 19 1:12 PM PT2:12 PM MT3:12 PM CT4:12 PM ET16:12 ET20:12 GMT4:12 1:12 PM MST3:12 PM EST2:12 PM CST3:42 PM VEN0:12 UAE (+1)2:12 PM CT-Tanner Rainey did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Colorado Rockies 3-0 on Sunday. Rainey struck out three, ending the game with a 7.33 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 3:10 PM PT4:10 PM MT5:10 PM CT6:10 PM ET18:10 ET22:10 GMT6:10 3:10 PM MST5:10 PM EST4:10 PM CST5:40 PM VEN2:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-Tanner Rainey allowed two runs on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Mets 5-4 on Thursday. Rainey did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.62 ERA and 1.81 WHIP on the season.
July 29 3:18 PM PT4:18 PM MT5:18 PM CT6:18 PM ET18:18 ET22:18 GMT6:18 3:18 PM MST5:18 PM EST4:18 PM CST5:48 PM VEN2:18 UAE (+1)4:18 PM CT-Tanner Rainey blew his third save, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 0.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 11-8 on Thursday. Rainey did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.20 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
June 27 1:22 PM PT2:22 PM MT3:22 PM CT4:22 PM ET16:22 ET20:22 GMT4:22 1:22 PM MST3:22 PM EST2:22 PM CST3:52 PM VEN0:22 UAE (+1)2:22 PM CT-Tanner Rainey walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Miami Marlins 5-1 on Sunday. Rainey struck out one, ending the game with a 6.93 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
June 26 3:59 PM PT4:59 PM MT5:59 PM CT6:59 PM ET18:59 ET22:59 GMT6:59 3:59 PM MST5:59 PM EST4:59 PM CST6:29 PM VEN2:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-Tanner Rainey did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Miami Marlins 3-2 on Saturday. Rainey struck out one, ending the game with a 7.23 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
June 23 2:35 PM PT3:35 PM MT4:35 PM CT5:35 PM ET17:35 ET21:35 GMT5:35 2:35 PM MST4:35 PM EST3:35 PM CST5:05 PM VEN1:35 UAE (+1)3:35 PM CT-Tanner Rainey improved to 1-2, allowing two hits and one walk over 0.2 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 13-12 on Wednesday. Rainey struck out one, ending the game with a 7.54 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
June 22 8:06 PM PT9:06 PM MT10:06 PM CT11:06 PM ET23:06 ET3:06 GMT11:06 8:06 PM MST10:06 PM EST9:06 PM CST10:36 PM VEN7:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-Tanner Rainey allowed one run on one hit in 0.2 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 3-2 on Tuesday. Rainey struck out two, ending the game with a 7.77 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
June 20 12:59 PM PT1:59 PM MT2:59 PM CT3:59 PM ET15:59 ET19:59 GMT3:59 12:59 PM MST2:59 PM EST1:59 PM CST3:29 PM VEN23:59 UAE1:59 PM CT-Tanner Rainey did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 5-2 on Sunday. Rainey struck out two, ending the game with a 7.59 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
June 16 4:08 PM PT5:08 PM MT6:08 PM CT7:08 PM ET19:08 ET23:08 GMT7:08 4:08 PM MST6:08 PM EST5:08 PM CST6:38 PM VEN3:08 UAE (+1)5:08 PM CT-Tanner Rainey walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 3-1 on Wednesday. Rainey did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.97 ERA and 1.77 WHIP on the season.
June 12 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)8:28 PM CT-Tanner Rainey walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the San Francisco Giants 2-1 on Saturday. Rainey did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 8.84 ERA and 1.85 WHIP on the season.
June 10 9:59 PM PT10:59 PM MT11:59 PM CT12:59 AM ET0:59 ET4:59 GMT12:59 9:59 PM MST11:59 PM EST10:59 PM CST12:29 AM VEN8:59 UAE10:59 PM CT-Tanner Rainey recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 9-7 on Wednesday. Rainey struck out two, ending the game with a 9.35 ERA and 1.90 WHIP on the season.
June 8 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST8:36 PM CST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)8:36 PM CT-Tanner Rainey did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 3-1 on Tuesday. Rainey struck out one, ending the game with a 9.92 ERA and 1.96 WHIP on the season.
June 6 2:37 PM PT3:37 PM MT4:37 PM CT5:37 PM ET17:37 ET21:37 GMT5:37 2:37 PM MST4:37 PM EST3:37 PM CST5:07 PM VEN1:37 UAE (+1)3:37 PM CT-Tanner Rainey allowed three runs on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 12-6 on Sunday. Rainey struck out one, ending the game with a 10.57 ERA and 2.09 WHIP on the season.
June 2 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Tanner Rainey allowed two runs on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Atlanta Braves 5-3 on Wednesday. Rainey struck out three, ending the game with a 9.42 ERA and 2.09 WHIP on the season.
May 31 5:23 PM PT6:23 PM MT7:23 PM CT8:23 PM ET20:23 ET0:23 GMT8:23 5:23 PM MST7:23 PM EST6:23 PM CST7:53 PM VEN4:23 UAE (+1)6:23 PM CT-Tanner Rainey walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-3 on Monday. Rainey struck out two, ending the game with an 8.78 ERA and 2.10 WHIP on the season.
May 27 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST2:15 PM CST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)2:15 PM CT-Tanner Rainey allowed three runs on three hits without recording an out as the Washington Nationals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 5-3 on Wednesday. Rainey did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 9.49 ERA and 2.19 WHIP on the season.
May 18 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Tanner Rainey did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Chicago Cubs 6-3 on Tuesday. Rainey did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.30 ERA and 1.95 WHIP on the season.
May 17 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)8:38 PM CT-Tanner Rainey did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Chicago Cubs 7-3 on Monday. Rainey struck out two, ending the game with a 7.50 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
May 13 12:47 PM PT1:47 PM MT2:47 PM CT3:47 PM ET15:47 ET19:47 GMT3:47 12:47 PM MST2:47 PM EST1:47 PM CST3:17 PM VEN23:47 UAE1:47 PM CT-Tanner Rainey allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 5-1 on Thursday. Rainey did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.94 ERA and 2.12 WHIP on the season.
May 11 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST9:26 PM CST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Tanner Rainey walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 6-2 on Tuesday. Rainey struck out two, ending the game with an 8.18 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
May 8 4:30 PM PT5:30 PM MT6:30 PM CT7:30 PM ET19:30 ET23:30 GMT7:30 4:30 PM MST6:30 PM EST5:30 PM CST7:00 PM VEN3:30 UAE (+1)5:30 PM CT-Tanner Rainey fell to 0-2, allowing one run - zero earned - on one hit and two walks without recording an out, as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Yankees 4-3 on Saturday. Rainey did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
May 7 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)8:15 PM CT-Tanner Rainey walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Yankees 11-4 on Friday. Rainey struck out three, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
May 4 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)8:05 PM CT-Tanner Rainey allowed four runs on two hits and two walks in 0.2 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 6-1 on Tuesday. Rainey did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 10.00 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)8:12 PM CT-Tanner Rainey did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Miami Marlins 2-1 on Friday. Rainey did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.48 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 12:59 PM PT1:59 PM MT2:59 PM CT3:59 PM ET15:59 ET19:59 GMT3:59 12:59 PM MST2:59 PM EST1:59 PM CST3:29 PM VEN23:59 UAE1:59 PM CT-Tanner Rainey walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Mets 4-0 on Sunday. Rainey struck out one, ending the game with a 7.36 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 4:11 PM PT5:11 PM MT6:11 PM CT7:11 PM ET19:11 ET23:11 GMT7:11 4:11 PM MST6:11 PM EST5:11 PM CST6:41 PM VEN3:11 UAE (+1)5:11 PM CT-Tanner Rainey allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 1-0 on Wednesday. Rainey struck out three, ending the game with an 8.53 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 7:03 PM PT8:03 PM MT9:03 PM CT10:03 PM ET22:03 ET2:03 GMT10:03 7:03 PM MST9:03 PM EST8:03 PM CST9:33 PM VEN6:03 UAE (+1)8:03 PM CT-Tanner Rainey blew his first save, allowing two runs on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2 on Tuesday. Rainey struck out one, ending the game with a 10.13 ERA and 1.88 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST2:31 PM CST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)2:31 PM CT-Tanner Rainey did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-2 on Saturday. Rainey struck out one, ending the game with an 8.31 ERA and 1.85 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 1:33 PM PT2:33 PM MT3:33 PM CT4:33 PM ET16:33 ET20:33 GMT4:33 1:33 PM MST3:33 PM EST2:33 PM CST4:03 PM VEN0:33 UAE (+1)2:33 PM CT-Tanner Rainey walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 6-0 on Wednesday. Rainey did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 10.80 ERA and 2.40 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 8:11 PM PT9:11 PM MT10:11 PM CT11:11 PM ET23:11 ET3:11 GMT11:11 8:11 PM MST10:11 PM EST9:11 PM CST10:41 PM VEN7:11 UAE (+1)9:11 PM CT-Tanner Rainey allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 5-2 on Monday. Rainey struck out one, ending the game with a 12.00 ERA and 2.33 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST4:43 PM CST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Tanner Rainey allowed two runs on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 3-0 on Sunday. Rainey struck out one, ending the game with an 18.00 ERA and 2.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST4:00 PM CST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)4:00 PM CT-Tanner Rainey fell to 0-1, allowing two runs on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 2-0 on Wednesday. Rainey did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 18.00 ERA and 3.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 Cin 0 0 0 - 0 8 0 0 7.0 13 19 19 4 12 1 7 3.57 24.43
2019 Was 2 3 0 - 3 52 0 0 48.1 32 22 21 6 38 2 74 1.45 3.91
2020 Was 1 1 0 - 0 20 0 0 20.1 8 6 6 4 7 1 32 0.74 2.66
2021 Was 1 3 3 - 6 38 0 0 31.2 29 27 26 6 25 1 42 1.71 7.39
Career 4 7 3 - 9 118 0 0 107.1 82 74 72 20 82 5 155 1.53 6.04

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2019 Was 52 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 118 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2019 Was Total 0 0 0 - 0 9 0 0 6.2 3 5 5 1 5 0 6 6.75
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.0 2 2 2 0 1 0 1 9.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0.00
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 2.2 1 3 3 1 4 0 2 10.13
Career 0 0 0 - 0 9 0 0 6.2 3 5 5 1 5 0 6 6.75


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 430 100 93 96.4 64.66
Slider 235 92 83 87.8 35.34

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.