Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#37
Nick Pivetta
ERA W-L K
4.53 9-8 175
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-5 / 214
Position: SPBorn: 2/14/1993 Birthplace: Victoria, Canada
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 4th Round by Nationals (2013)


Latest News
Oct. 20 9:19 PM PT10:19 PM MT11:19 PM CT12:19 AM ET0:19 ET4:19 GMT12:19 9:19 PM MST11:19 PM EST10:19 PM CST11:49 PM VEN8:19 UAE10:19 PM CT-Nick Pivetta allowed one run on two hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Houston Astros 9-2 on Tuesday. Pivetta struck out three, ending the game with a 1.80 ERA and 0.80 WHIP on the season.
Oct. 10 6:28 PM PT7:28 PM MT8:28 PM CT9:28 PM ET21:28 ET1:28 GMT9:28 6:28 PM MST8:28 PM EST7:28 PM CST8:58 PM VEN5:28 UAE (+1)7:28 PM CT-Nick Pivetta improved to 1-0, allowing three hits and one walk over 4.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 6-4 on Sunday. Pivetta struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.12 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Oct. 7 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST9:19 PM CST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-Nick Pivetta allowed three runs on four hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-0 on Thursday. Pivetta struck out four, ending the game with a 5.79 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Oct. 3 3:57 PM PT4:57 PM MT5:57 PM CT6:57 PM ET18:57 ET22:57 GMT6:57 3:57 PM MST5:57 PM EST4:57 PM CST6:27 PM VEN2:57 UAE (+1)4:57 PM CT-Nick Pivetta recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Washington Nationals 7-5 on Sunday. Pivetta struck out one, ending the game with a 4.53 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 30 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)7:49 PM CT-Nick Pivetta fell to 9-8, allowing three runs on four hits and two walks in 4.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 6-2 on Thursday. Pivetta struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.56 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 25 4:51 PM PT5:51 PM MT6:51 PM CT7:51 PM ET19:51 ET23:51 GMT7:51 4:51 PM MST6:51 PM EST5:51 PM CST7:21 PM VEN3:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Nick Pivetta allowed one run on three hits in 5.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 5-3 on Saturday. Pivetta struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.52 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 18 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST2:24 PM CST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)2:24 PM CT-Nick Pivetta allowed three runs on seven hits and one walk in 3.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 9-3 on Saturday. Pivetta struck out three, ending the game with a 4.63 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 12 2:14 PM PT3:14 PM MT4:14 PM CT5:14 PM ET17:14 ET21:14 GMT5:14 2:14 PM MST4:14 PM EST3:14 PM CST4:44 PM VEN1:14 UAE (+1)3:14 PM CT-Nick Pivetta allowed one run - zero earned - on three hits in 5.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Chicago White Sox 2-1 on Sunday. Pivetta struck out five, ending the game with a 4.49 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 5 8:04 AM PT9:04 AM MT10:04 AM CT11:04 AM ET11:04 ET15:04 GMT23:04 8:04 AM MST10:04 AM EST9:04 AM CST10:34 AM VEN19:04 UAE9:04 AM CT-Pivetta came off the COVID-19 injured list Sunday and will start against the White Sox.
Analysis: After going 6-0 with a 3.86 ERA in his first 10 starts this season, Pivetta is 3-7 with a 5.20 ERA in his past 16 outings. He last pitched Aug. 30.
Aug. 30 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST8:35 PM CST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)8:35 PM CT-Nick Pivetta fell to 9-7, allowing four runs on six hits and five walks in 5.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 6-1 on Monday. Pivetta struck out six, ending the game with a 4.67 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 25 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST9:24 PM CST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Nick Pivetta allowed four runs on six hits and two walks in 4.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Minnesota Twins 9-6 on Wednesday. Pivetta struck out five, ending the game with a 4.57 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST8:58 PM CST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Nick Pivetta fell to 9-6, allowing four runs on four hits and three walks in 1.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 5-2 on Wednesday. Pivetta struck out one, ending the game with a 4.43 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)8:23 PM CT-Nick Pivetta improved to 9-5, allowing one run on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-1 on Friday. Pivetta struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.20 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 2:08 PM PT3:08 PM MT4:08 PM CT5:08 PM ET17:08 ET21:08 GMT5:08 2:08 PM MST4:08 PM EST3:08 PM CST4:38 PM VEN1:08 UAE (+1)3:08 PM CT-Nick Pivetta allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 1-0 on Saturday. Pivetta struck out five, ending the game with a 4.34 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 1 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST8:04 PM CST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)8:04 PM CT-Nick Pivetta fell to 8-5, allowing three runs on three hits and one walk in 4.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 3-2 on Sunday. Pivetta struck out six, ending the game with a 4.57 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
July 26 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST8:33 PM CST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)8:33 PM CT-Nick Pivetta allowed four runs on six hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-4 on Monday. Pivetta struck out three, ending the game with a 4.51 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
July 19 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-Nick Pivetta improved to 8-4, allowing four runs on 11 hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 13-4 on Monday. Pivetta struck out four, ending the game with a 4.37 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
July 11 1:49 PM PT2:49 PM MT3:49 PM CT4:49 PM ET16:49 ET20:49 GMT4:49 1:49 PM MST3:49 PM EST2:49 PM CST4:19 PM VEN0:49 UAE (+1)2:49 PM CT-Nick Pivetta fell to 7-4, allowing five runs - four earned - on four hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4 on Sunday. Pivetta struck out four, ending the game with a 4.30 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
July 4 4:05 PM PT5:05 PM MT6:05 PM CT7:05 PM ET19:05 ET23:05 GMT7:05 4:05 PM MST6:05 PM EST5:05 PM CST6:35 PM VEN3:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-Nick Pivetta improved to 7-3, allowing two hits and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Oakland Athletics 1-0 on Sunday. Pivetta struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
June 29 7:52 PM PT8:52 PM MT9:52 PM CT10:52 PM ET22:52 ET2:52 GMT10:52 7:52 PM MST9:52 PM EST8:52 PM CST10:22 PM VEN6:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Nick Pivetta allowed six runs on nine hits and two walks in 4.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Kansas City Royals 7-6 on Tuesday. Pivetta struck out five, ending the game with a 4.43 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
June 24 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)8:24 PM CT-Nick Pivetta walked two and didn't allow a hit in 6.2 scoreless innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 1-0 on Thursday. Pivetta struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.00 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
June 19 10:08 PM PT11:08 PM MT12:08 AM CT1:08 AM ET1:08 ET5:08 GMT13:08 10:08 PM MST12:08 AM EST11:08 PM CST12:38 AM VEN9:08 UAE11:08 PM CT-Nick Pivetta fell to 6-3, allowing three runs on six hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Kansas City Royals 5-3 on Friday. Pivetta struck out six, ending the game with a 4.36 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
June 12 4:24 PM PT5:24 PM MT6:24 PM CT7:24 PM ET19:24 ET23:24 GMT7:24 4:24 PM MST6:24 PM EST5:24 PM CST6:54 PM VEN3:24 UAE (+1)5:24 PM CT-Nick Pivetta fell to 6-2, allowing six runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 7-2 on Saturday. Pivetta struck out six, ending the game with a 4.28 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
June 7 5:53 PM PT6:53 PM MT7:53 PM CT8:53 PM ET20:53 ET0:53 GMT8:53 5:53 PM MST7:53 PM EST6:53 PM CST8:23 PM VEN4:53 UAE (+1)6:53 PM CT-Nick Pivetta allowed two runs on seven hits and three walks in 4.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Miami Marlins 5-3 on Monday. Pivetta struck out six, ending the game with a 3.78 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
June 2 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST9:19 PM CST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-Nick Pivetta fell to 6-1, allowing two runs on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Houston Astros 2-1 on Wednesday. Pivetta struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.77 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
May 27 10:36 PM PT11:36 PM MT12:36 AM CT1:36 AM ET1:36 ET5:36 GMT13:36 10:36 PM MST12:36 AM EST11:36 PM CST1:06 AM VEN9:36 UAE11:36 PM CT-Nick Pivetta improved to 6-0, allowing four runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Atlanta Braves 9-5 on Wednesday. Pivetta struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
May 20 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST9:09 PM CST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Nick Pivetta allowed five runs - four earned - on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 8-7 on Thursday. Pivetta struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.59 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
May 14 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST7:59 PM CST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-Nick Pivetta allowed two runs on four hits in 6.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Los Angeles Angels 4-3 on Friday. Pivetta struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.16 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
May 12 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST4:43 PM CST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Pivetta has been placed on the COVID-related injured list due to side effects of the vaccine.
Analysis: Pivetta, who was scheduled to start Friday against the Angels, is 5-0 with a 3.19 ERA in seven starts this season. It's uncertain how long he'll be sidelined.
May 9 1:07 PM PT2:07 PM MT3:07 PM CT4:07 PM ET16:07 ET20:07 GMT4:07 1:07 PM MST3:07 PM EST2:07 PM CST3:37 PM VEN0:07 UAE (+1)2:07 PM CT-Nick Pivetta improved to 5-0, allowing two runs on three hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 4-3 on Sunday. Pivetta struck out two, ending the game with a 3.19 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
May 4 7:55 PM PT8:55 PM MT9:55 PM CT10:55 PM ET22:55 ET2:55 GMT10:55 7:55 PM MST9:55 PM EST8:55 PM CST10:25 PM VEN6:55 UAE (+1)8:55 PM CT-Nick Pivetta improved to 4-0, allowing three runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Detroit Tigers 11-7 on Tuesday. Pivetta struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.23 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 6:41 PM PT7:41 PM MT8:41 PM CT9:41 PM ET21:41 ET1:41 GMT9:41 6:41 PM MST8:41 PM EST7:41 PM CST9:11 PM VEN5:41 UAE (+1)7:41 PM CT-Nick Pivetta improved to 3-0, allowing one hit and three walks over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Mets 1-0 on Wednesday. Pivetta struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.81 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)8:44 PM CT-Nick Pivetta allowed two runs on one hit and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Seattle Mariners 7-3 on Thursday. Pivetta struck out four, ending the game with a 3.48 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 4:46 PM PT5:46 PM MT6:46 PM CT7:46 PM ET19:46 ET23:46 GMT7:46 4:46 PM MST6:46 PM EST5:46 PM CST7:16 PM VEN3:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Nick Pivetta allowed two runs on four hits and four walks in 3.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Chicago White Sox 7-4 on Saturday. Pivetta struck out three, ending the game with a 3.68 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 1:57 PM PT2:57 PM MT3:57 PM CT4:57 PM ET16:57 ET20:57 GMT4:57 1:57 PM MST3:57 PM EST2:57 PM CST4:27 PM VEN0:57 UAE (+1)2:57 PM CT-Nick Pivetta improved to 2-0, allowing four runs on seven hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 14-9 on Sunday. Pivetta struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)8:38 PM CT-Nick Pivetta improved to 1-0, allowing two hits and four walks over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 11-2 on Monday. Pivetta struck out four, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2017 Phi 8 10 0 - 0 26 26 0 133.0 144 91 89 25 57 0 140 1.51 6.02
2018 Phi 7 14 0 - 0 33 32 0 164.0 163 91 87 24 51 0 188 1.30 4.77
2019 Phi 4 6 1 - 1 30 13 1 93.2 103 64 56 20 39 2 89 1.52 5.38
2020 Phi 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 5.2 10 10 10 3 1 0 4 1.94 15.88
2020 Bos 2 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.0 8 2 2 1 5 0 13 1.30 1.80
2020 Tot 2 0 0 - 0 5 2 0 15.2 18 12 12 4 6 0 17 1.53 6.89
2021 Bos 9 8 1 - 1 31 30 0 155.0 137 80 78 24 65 2 175 1.30 4.53
Career 30 38 2 - 2 125 103 1 561.1 565 338 322 97 218 4 609 1.39 5.16

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 Phi 26 44 3 3 0 0 0 0 0 21 0 0 .068 .068 .068
2018 Phi 34 40 3 4 1 0 0 1 2 20 0 0 .100 .143 .125
2019 Phi 30 25 1 2 0 0 0 0 1 19 0 0 .080 .115 .080
2021 Bos 31 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 126 111 7 9 1 0 0 1 3 62 0 0 .081 .105 .090

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2021 Bos Total 1 0 0 - 0 3 1 0 13.2 9 4 4 3 5 0 14 2.63
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 8.2 7 3 3 2 3 0 11 3.12
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 2 1 1 1 2 0 3 1.80
Career 1 0 0 - 0 3 1 0 13.2 9 4 4 3 5 0 14 2.63


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1425 99 90 94.8 51.91
Curveball 651 83 71 78.6 23.72
Slider 594 91 81 86 21.64
Changeup 75 91 84 87.9 2.73

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.