Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#56
Duane Underwood Jr.
ERA S K
4.34 0 38
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-2 / 210
Position: RPBorn: 7/20/1994 Birthplace: Raleigh, North Carolina
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 2nd Round by Cubs (2012)


Latest News
Aug. 17 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)7:57 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. allowed one run on one hit in 1.1 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Boston Red Sox 8-3 on Wednesday. Underwood Jr. did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.34 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 8:58 PM PT9:58 PM MT10:58 PM CT11:58 PM ET23:58 ET3:58 GMT11:58 8:58 PM MST10:58 PM EST9:58 PM CST11:28 PM VEN7:58 UAE (+1)9:58 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the San Francisco Giants 2-0 on Saturday. Underwood Jr. struck out three, ending the game with a 4.25 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 4:06 PM PT5:06 PM MT6:06 PM CT7:06 PM ET19:06 ET23:06 GMT7:06 4:06 PM MST6:06 PM EST5:06 PM CST6:36 PM VEN3:06 UAE (+1)5:06 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 9-3 on Thursday. Underwood Jr. did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.41 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 9:47 PM PT10:47 PM MT11:47 PM CT12:47 AM ET0:47 ET4:47 GMT12:47 9:47 PM MST11:47 PM EST10:47 PM CST12:17 AM VEN8:47 UAE10:47 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. allowed four runs on five hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-4 on Tuesday. Underwood Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 4.64 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 6 5:33 PM PT6:33 PM MT7:33 PM CT8:33 PM ET20:33 ET0:33 GMT8:33 5:33 PM MST7:33 PM EST6:33 PM CST8:03 PM VEN4:33 UAE (+1)6:33 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Baltimore Orioles 6-3 on Saturday. Underwood Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 3.66 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 4 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST2:09 PM CST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)2:09 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. improved to 1-3, allowing one run - zero earned - on zero hits and two walks in 1.0 inning, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 5-4 on Thursday. Underwood Jr. did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.77 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST9:03 PM CST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)9:03 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 8-7 on Wednesday. Underwood Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 3.90 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
July 30 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST8:30 PM CST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)8:30 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 2-1 on Saturday. Underwood Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 4.03 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
July 29 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST8:46 PM CST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)8:46 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. fell to 0-3, allowing two runs - one earned - on three hits in 1.0 inning, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 4-2 on Friday. Underwood Jr. did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.18 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
July 25 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST9:05 PM CST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Chicago Cubs 3-2 on Monday. Underwood Jr. did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.00 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
July 24 1:50 PM PT2:50 PM MT3:50 PM CT4:50 PM ET16:50 ET20:50 GMT4:50 1:50 PM MST3:50 PM EST2:50 PM CST4:20 PM VEN0:50 UAE (+1)2:50 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. allowed one run on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Miami Marlins 6-5 on Sunday. Underwood Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
July 17 3:29 PM PT4:29 PM MT5:29 PM CT6:29 PM ET18:29 ET22:29 GMT6:29 3:29 PM MST5:29 PM EST4:29 PM CST5:59 PM VEN2:29 UAE (+1)4:29 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Colorado Rockies 8-3 on Sunday. Underwood Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 3.96 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
July 14 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST2:31 PM CST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)2:31 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Miami Marlins 3-2 on Thursday. Underwood Jr. struck out two, ending the game with a 4.13 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
July 13 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST8:08 PM CST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)8:08 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. blew his first save, allowing two runs on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Miami Marlins 5-4 on Wednesday. Underwood Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 4.24 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
July 10 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST3:47 PM CST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 8-6 on Sunday. Underwood Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 3.63 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
July 9 4:29 PM PT5:29 PM MT6:29 PM CT7:29 PM ET19:29 ET23:29 GMT7:29 4:29 PM MST6:29 PM EST5:29 PM CST6:59 PM VEN3:29 UAE (+1)5:29 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 4-3 on Saturday. Underwood Jr. struck out two, ending the game with a 3.80 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
July 7 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST3:07 PM CST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)3:07 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Cincinnati Reds 4-2 on Thursday. Underwood Jr. struck out two, ending the game with a 3.98 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
July 5 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST8:11 PM CST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)8:11 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. allowed one run on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the New York Yankees 5-2 on Tuesday. Underwood Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 4.19 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
July 3 1:49 PM PT2:49 PM MT3:49 PM CT4:49 PM ET16:49 ET20:49 GMT4:49 1:49 PM MST3:49 PM EST2:49 PM CST4:19 PM VEN0:49 UAE (+1)2:49 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 2-0 on Sunday. Underwood Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 3.93 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
June 11 3:58 PM PT4:58 PM MT5:58 PM CT6:58 PM ET18:58 ET22:58 GMT6:58 3:58 PM MST5:58 PM EST4:58 PM CST6:28 PM VEN2:58 UAE (+1)4:58 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. fell to 0-2, allowing three runs on two hits and one walk in 1.1 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Atlanta Braves 10-4 on Saturday. Underwood Jr. struck out two, ending the game with a 4.24 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
June 8 9:06 PM PT10:06 PM MT11:06 PM CT12:06 AM ET0:06 ET4:06 GMT12:06 9:06 PM MST11:06 PM EST10:06 PM CST11:36 PM VEN8:06 UAE10:06 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Detroit Tigers 5-3 on Tuesday. Underwood Jr. struck out two, ending the game with a 2.87 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
June 4 3:57 PM PT4:57 PM MT5:57 PM CT6:57 PM ET18:57 ET22:57 GMT6:57 3:57 PM MST5:57 PM EST4:57 PM CST6:27 PM VEN2:57 UAE (+1)4:57 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 2-1 on Saturday. Underwood Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 2.63 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
June 1 10:25 PM PT11:25 PM MT12:25 AM CT1:25 AM ET1:25 ET5:25 GMT13:25 10:25 PM MST12:25 AM EST11:25 PM CST12:55 AM VEN9:25 UAE11:25 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-3 on Tuesday. Underwood Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 2.92 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
May 29 4:06 PM PT5:06 PM MT6:06 PM CT7:06 PM ET19:06 ET23:06 GMT7:06 4:06 PM MST6:06 PM EST5:06 PM CST6:36 PM VEN3:06 UAE (+1)5:06 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the San Diego Padres 4-2 on Sunday. Underwood Jr. struck out three, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
May 28 9:45 PM PT10:45 PM MT11:45 PM CT12:45 AM ET0:45 ET4:45 GMT12:45 9:45 PM MST11:45 PM EST10:45 PM CST12:15 AM VEN8:45 UAE10:45 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. fell to 0-1, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the San Diego Padres 4-3 on Friday. Underwood Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 4.00 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
May 24 7:01 PM PT8:01 PM MT9:01 PM CT10:01 PM ET22:01 ET2:01 GMT10:01 7:01 PM MST9:01 PM EST8:01 PM CST9:31 PM VEN6:01 UAE (+1)8:01 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. allowed one run - zero earned - on one hit in 2.1 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Colorado Rockies 2-1 on Tuesday. Underwood Jr. struck out two, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
May 21 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)8:00 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-4 on Saturday. Underwood Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 4.76 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
May 18 7:50 PM PT8:50 PM MT9:50 PM CT10:50 PM ET22:50 ET2:50 GMT10:50 7:50 PM MST9:50 PM EST8:50 PM CST10:20 PM VEN6:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. walked one and didn't allow a hit in 2.1 scoreless innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Chicago Cubs 3-2 on Wednesday. Underwood Jr. struck out two, ending the game with a 6.23 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
May 12 6:34 PM PT7:34 PM MT8:34 PM CT9:34 PM ET21:34 ET1:34 GMT9:34 6:34 PM MST8:34 PM EST7:34 PM CST9:04 PM VEN5:34 UAE (+1)7:34 PM CT-Duane Underwood Jr. allowed two runs on four hits in 2.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Cincinnati Reds 4-0 on Thursday. Underwood Jr. struck out four, ending the game with a 13.50 ERA and 2.50 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 ChC 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 2 1 1 1 3 0 3 1.25 2.25
2019 ChC 0 0 0 - 0 12 0 0 11.2 13 7 7 2 3 0 13 1.37 5.40
2020 ChC 1 0 0 - 0 17 0 0 20.2 25 13 13 5 6 1 27 1.50 5.66
2021 Pit 2 3 0 - 0 43 0 0 72.2 77 40 35 9 27 1 65 1.43 4.33
2022 Pit 1 3 0 - 1 30 0 0 37.1 37 21 18 1 17 1 38 1.45 4.34
Career 4 7 0 - 1 103 1 0 146.1 154 82 74 18 56 3 146 1.44 4.55

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2018 ChC 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 ChC 12 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 Pit 43 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 103 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 264 98 92 95.7 41.31
Curveball 85 86 80 82.1 13.3
Slider 5 91 87 89.2 .78
Changeup 137 92 86 89.8 21.44
Cut Fastball 148 96 87 92.5 23.16

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2022 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.